Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi Movie Review

Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi marks the return of Aditya Chopra as a director after 8 years. His last movie Mohabbatein did well at the box-office, but it isDDLJ that continues to make news a decade after its release (its still running in a theatre in Mumbai). The expecations are quite high. Can Aditya Chopra recreate the magic of DDLJ, once again, with Shahrukh Khan in the lead?

Like last year’s Om Shanti Om, SRK has a new heroine, who again like Deepika Padukone, appears slightly taller than him.

Surprisingly unlike most Aditya Chopra movies, there are just 4 characters in Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi; Surinder Sahni – Raj (both SRK), Taani (Anushka Sharma) and Bobby (Vinay Pathak). Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi is a simple film about a couple whose marriage turns from a compromise to one made in heaven, by Rab himself!

Surinder Sahni is a simpleton working for Punjab Powers with a personality of a nerd. At the wedding of his college professors daughter he falls head over heals in love at first with the bride, the beautiful and very bubbly girl Taani. Just when the air of happiness and celebration reached its peak, the news about the accident of the groom and his entire family puts everything to lull. Surinder being the most favorite and admired student of the professor takes the responsibility of taking care of Taani and ties the nuptial bond with her. The rest of the story tells us about the extent to which Surinder goes to bring back the liveliness and happiness in the life of his lady love. It’s about how he wins his share of love compromising yet taking his stand for the man he is.

There are 2 major negatives and flaws in Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi

1) The length! Its more than 2 hours 40 mins long for a movie, which preferabbly should not have exceeded 2 hours. A bunch of unnecessary scenes, just to add masala, to an otherwise simple movie is disappointing. Also the movie is a stretch, with the pace being painfully slow at times.

2) The story! How can a newly married woman, who promises to be a good wife, fall in love with her dance partner? Okay, such things do happen when the marriage has no hold. But then the Raj – Taani love story is far from convincing and just doesnt strike the right chord. When a love story involves a married lady, who is cheating on her husband, the build up and the impact has to be tad bit more.

And how in the world does Taani not recognise Raj as her husband? With minimal changes in looks which included the removal of his moustache, specs and a change in hairstyle. The face and voice was the same, wasnt it?

The dialogues are great. Sets are adequate, simple and perfect for a movie like Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi. The music is average. Haule Haule and the title track are good. Dance Pe Chance has been choreographed well. Rest are okay.

SRK’s character of Surinder Sahni is something most people would identify with. A simple common man, who goes through his daily routine and 9 to 5 working life. Acting wise, SRK has put in a lot of effort into this role and it shows. The mannerisms are funny, overall good performance.

Then comes the Raj makeover and SRK starts perfecting his hamming skills. The over the top character is strictly for SRK fans. Others could find it irritating.

Anushka Sharma is brilliant in a highly refreshing performance. Her expressions and dance stands out. A huge contender for the best debut award this year. Vinay Pathak is fine.

Overall, the story and the execution is a let down. The performances are decent and the movie sure has some light moments that would make you smile and laugh. At the all important box-office, the opening has been suprisingly not upto expectations for such a huge film. It should pick up over the weekend. Going past the Week 1 figures of either Singh Is King or Om Shanti Om seems highly unlikely.

Rating: ★★½☆☆ Wait for DVD release or Television Premiere

Other notes: Kajol, Rani Mukherjee, Lara Dutta, Bipasha Basu and Preity Zinta.. all have special apperances in a song. The theatre was half full for the morning show and the audience reaction was decent. They seemed to love the scene wherein SRK keeps a rose along with his phone number, for his newly married wife.

Advertisements

253 Comments

  • my friends made me see the movie today on a dvd today and i must say it is quite average..i wanted the climax to happen soon but it was kept away from sometime ..i expected lot of tears from my eyes what srk is famous for sure i got a lump but the climax was finished off too soon before i could imagine ..further..in some ways it was a let down im not bothered about the collections ..they will be somwhat average and the movie will be semihit

  • By Taran Adarsh, August 13, 2008 – 08:31 IST

    SINGH IS KINNG has fetched a fantabulous start in Overseas. The opening weekend has been historic everywhere, a close second to last year’s blockbuster hit OM SHANTI OM. In U.K., the film has emerged the biggest opener of 2008, crossing RACE and JODHAA AKBAR. It is also Akshay Kumar’s biggest opener to date. In America, SINGH IS KINNG has fetched an equally electrifying start. In fact, it’s one of the biggest starts ever. Ditto for Australia, where the screen average is higher than even Hollywood biggies like THE DARK KNIGHT, MAMMA MIA, WANTED and new release PINEAPPLE EXPRESS. In UAE too, the film has opened to an earth-shattering response. The combined total from these 4 markets itself is close to Rs. 11 crores in just 3 days. Outstanding!

    By Taran Adarsh, december17, 2008 – 08:31 IST
    Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi has raked up a huge 16.50 crore from overseas in just 3 days. In North America it has grossed 6 crore, United Kingdom grossed 3 crore, Australia was 60 lakhs while UAE was a huge record breaking 4.75 crore. The opening is the second biggest ever after Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna. The numbers in the traditional overseas markets North America and United Kingdom are big but not as huge as some in the trade were expecting. The other smaller and newer markets are huge especially UAE where all records have been smashed.

    u decide who and what is the best.

  • I’ve visited now http://www.yashrajfilms.com and I’ve rated the movie as “excellent”, so the result was the following:

    There were 3 icons to mark: Excellent, good & average.

    For the movie: 74% marked as excellent, 5% as good & 20% as average.

    For the cast: 78% marked as excellent, 2% as good & 19% as average.

    Total voters for the movie rating were 6498
    Total ” ” ” cast rating were 6610

    which means that most of the audience loved the movie and the rating in India will not be below a hit or a super hit.

  • no ways can the movie be called excellent these are blind following.. it has none of the pathos of veer zara the climax is too loose could have been the defining moment but it just passed off like nothing much had happened .the girl should have been made to absorb the shock for a longer time …the climax let me down ..and that is always the life line of a movie ..ill change my view this will be an average movie…heard from a source ghajini is getting released with an A certification

    taran adarsh for a change has been right with his reviews ..my rating too is also2/5

  • It is a simple movie, at the same time it is not boring. Aditya Chopra’s story telling style is very nice; it is the real thread of the film. As usual SRK simply rock, but the important thing is the acting of Anushka Sharma, she did really well. In the current Bollywood as well as all Indian movies heroines doesn’t have important roles, simply we can only view heroism. But in RAB Jodi Aditya Chopra gave equal importance to heroine, like hero and Anushka Sharma did it so marvelous. Music is another key factor of the movie. Salim-Sulaiman did their duty really well, and we can here a herat touching music all over the movie. So don’t wait time go and watch RAB Jodi, otherwise you will loose a good movie in 2008.
    nan

  • First Week Records For Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi

    Thursay 18th December 2008 09.00 IST

    Boxofficeindia.Com Trade Network

    The week is not over but Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi has started setting first week records in just six days. The film has set new first week highs in just six days in Indore beating the seven day figures of Singh Is Kinng and Welcome. The first week (seven days) figures of Singh Is Kinng and Welcome and six days of Ran Ne Bana di Jodi are below.

    Totals

    Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi (6 Days)-42,39,210 (Record)

    Singh Is Kinng-39,77,770

    Welcome-40,05,030

  • http://www.bollywoodhungama.com

    As Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi reaches mid-week, it is crystal clear that Shah Rukh Khan and Yash Raj Films have a big money spinner up their sleeves. With no questions being asked about the big opening that Ghajini is all set to take, industry is smiling again. Hat-trick of big bucks flowing in is pretty much on the anvil as Chandni Chowk To China is on it’s way to create a hat-trick of box office winners once it releases on 16th January 2009. No wonder, there is a lot riding on each of these biggies.

    Says Akshay Kumar, “Shah Rukh Khan and me are the only actors in the current times who have attained this level of success all on our own without any Godfather backing us. We came without any connections in Bollywood and still have managed to reach this stage by sheer hard work and determination.”

    kalyan why u alaways fighting with srk fans.aksay and shahruk are not fighting ever.

  • H Singh: what Akshay said is quite good.. and I don’t think that Akshay & Shahrukh r enemies.. might be very good friends.. we don’t know, but from the promos of CCTC I got a feeling that the movie isn’t as good as Singh is King though it’s a big production but the question is : Who is the director? Is he a good director and which movies he did aleady? Could u answer my question H Singh?

    If u all consider any movie as a good one by the no. of ppl who paid money and went to watch it, so CC2C will win for sure, will be a super hit like Welcome and the rest comedy movies which satisfy many ppl in this world. And why not?! If a movie like Gomaal Returns which is a disgrace to bollywood.. kachra, crap, the worst which I couldn’t tolerate watching more than 5 minutes and turned it off was a hit movie.. so why not this one?!!

  • Hello All,
    The movie has done good business as it was expected to be grt8.
    The no. of prints the movie got was more than SIK so the opening it got is good but not grt8.
    it was always expected of Adi-SRK combo but someehr these 2 will still be thinking its not up to the mark…
    this movie is going to make huge profits considering the low cost of the movie…
    im sure Aamir wud b thinking y am i not releasing Ghajini a week ahead, its good for RNBDJ team they can still make money for another week, bcoz i hav a feeling that Ghajini will surely shatter SIK records.
    its the same feeling for CCTC.

  • Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi script goes to the Oscars library Click here to add this article to My Clips

    By Bollywood Hungama News Network, December 18, 2008 – 17:29 IST

    It’s time for YRF to start their celebrations as Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi has had a successful run at the BO since its release last week. And if that was not enough the news is that YRF has got a call from the Oscar library requesting them for the script of Rab Ne…for its permanent collection.

    News has it that it’s basically the sensitivity of the screenplay and the unusual love story that attracted the attention of the Oscar library. For the uninitiated, the scripts in the collection are kept at the famous Margaret Herrick Library and are made accessible strictly for research purposes only. It’s actually the students, filmmakers, writers and actors who can avail of the script. Not just that, the screenplays may only be viewed in the library since they do not get circulated and no screenplay is allowed to be photocopied.

    Critics may not have given Rab Ne… the much expected five star ratings, but being chosen for the Oscar library is an achievement in itself! SRK will surely agree to this!

  • Hey Fathiya! You said Golmaal and Golmaal returns are disgrace movies. I think you don´t live in India or your origin is not India. Golmaal and Golmaal returns are the very very super hit movie.

    To understand the indian movies, you have to be indian or origin from India.

    SIK was very very blockbuster movie.

    And now Rab ne Bana di Jodi is also good film.

  • Rbnbdj is a nonesense, bad and always the same topic movie.

    Hey don´t spend your money on srk movies.

    You have to watch my movie Kites.

  • First of all, I would like to assure my friends on this site, that the above comment CANNOT have been written by Hrithik Roshan. It is just some prankster trying to be funny, and I hope we are all intelligent enough to see through it.

    Now my comments on Rab Ne Banadi Jodi: 1. I wish Surinder the geeky, nerdy version had been shown to do more for his wife – perhaps keeping awake and taking care of her when she was ill, or something like that, so that she would have a more solid reason to stick with him. That important part of the plot wasnt treated well at all and her reason for staying with Suri was not at all convincing.
    2. I would have been happy if atleast one dialogue would have been included in the scene when Tani first met Raj – “have I met you before?” or “have I seen you somewhere?” – would have lent reality to the situation.
    3. In general, SRK is a below average dancer. The director should never have selected a latin dance for the finale. SRK looked gauche, ill at ease and completely out of his depth next to Anushka during this dance. It was laughable that they actually won. They should have lost but Tanu would say that this loss was a win. That would have been a more acceptable scenario.
    4. SRK should be aware that he looks his age on screen these days.
    5.To summarise, I would give this film a strictly average rating. Average because the dialogues were good, the songs were fair (I miss Lata in Yash Raj films) and Anushka was impressive for a debut performance. I feel the ideal choice for lead actor should have been Hrithik because he can dance well, is more suited to Anushka’s age and could have ofcourse carried off both personas (Suri and Raj) beautifully. Perhaps Shahid Kapoor or Akshay Kumar would have been good choices too. However, I understand that SRK is a box office attraction in which case, the dance competition should have been avoided and Raj should have been a bit more mature in character.
    I apologise to all for my frank opinions and commend Indicine for their accurate rating.

  • Taran: FYI.. Sarkar Raj which was a flop movie in india – which we liked overseas ppl – went also to the library of oscar awards.

    Sheetal: I’m a Bahraini, I think u didn’t read all my previous comments in this website.. I’m aware that Golmaal 1& 2 are super hit movies.. but these titles( hits, superhits, blockbuster, flop) are given according to the no. of pp who go to cinema & pay tickets to watch it.. not by the criticis, which doesn’t indicate that they’re so good movies! ( it never happened with u that u find some movie crap and u were really surprised why those were some successful movies?) I understand hindi language, and there’s also substitle.. but that’s not the reason that I didn’t like the movies.. I didn’t like Welcome too.. it’s the (direction & the script) which r kachra and many ppl never concentrate on the direction.. their eyes only on some funny scenes, to make them laugh.. that’s all.. .. these r the 2 worst comedy movies which I saw.. I saw Golmaal 1 just for 30 minutes and turned it off, didn’t finish watching it.. a crap.. and Gomaal returns is horrible.. the worst ( read my comment under Golmaal Returns movie review).

    Dr. Patel: Hi.. u have disappeared from this website since a while.. welcome back..
    Do u think that Lata is so far a good singer?! She’s old now, her voice isn’t as good as before, when she was younger. she had a beautiful voice with Aisha Bhosle, but both of them must retire now. Did u like Lata’s voice in Veer Zara? I didn’t, i thought she just ruined the beautiful songs of Veer Zara with her very matured voice, u know.. when we are growing older, even our voice changes by the time, so an old man or old woman can’t sing, can’t have a good voice, and that’s what surprised me while watching VZ.. and why r they still singing?! How old r they? around 70 or 75?
    And if u think that Akshay or Shahid could’ve done Shahrukh’s role in Rabne.. they’d have runied the movie and became a flop.. Shahid is very young and got a boyish look.. even with makeup, the director can’t show him as a middle aged man.. that’s one reason although he’s a good actor, but shahrukh was playing his age.. a man around forty with a different look only. And Akshay.. no way.. Akshay is good for comedy & action movies and can’t perform at his best in such roles ( I’m just waiting Akshay.. to see u perform the best in these kind of roles!)
    Shahrukh is great and the movie too. He is the best.

  • this faathiya knows so much about movies ..she should make one movie and then we should review it

    her choice of script and direction will be perfect she can ask shailendra singh to sing for male vocal and any indian idol for the girl .or best is ask one of her own bahraini people to star in the extravaganza so that we indian people can bisect a bahraini product..i will surely give her bahraini movie5/5 with or without watching it

  • Yamani: latest news.. I heard that a Bahraini guy who’s a good looking, graduated from a university and from a big family in Bahrain has been signed for an Indian movie! People say he loves acting and interested in bollywood movies!! I thought it’s a lie but now ppl say it’s true.. he’ll join bollywood.

    No one knows.. he might be a star one day

  • No way, its good and worth enough movie to whtch, every one feel happy while seeing movie, i am sure no one feel bore until the person not having any mental problems, who ever hero , please accept the movie which is really good, its not a fans club, its about how good movie it is, thats all. very nice movie, every one might have seen these kind of couple in their life , good sharukh , good going . keep it up

    Thanks
    Nazeer

  • ecord opening week for Yash Raj Films’ “Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi”!
    19 December 2008

    Shahrukh Khan & Anushka Sharma in Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi, which released worldwide on December 12th 2008, has grossed Rs. 90 crores worldwide in its opening week, which is on par with and in some places even higher than two of the highest opening week grossers till date, Om Shanti Om and Singh Is Kinng. The film has also broken all earlier opening week collection records for Yash Raj Films, having surpassed the opening week collections of Dhoom: 2, which is regarded as one of the highest grossing films of all-time.

    The total collections for Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi in India are around Rs. 42 crores net (i.e. gross collections of Rs. 70 crores). The total gross collections for all overseas markets are over $4 Million (i.e. around Rs. 20 crores).

    In the Middle East, Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi has broken all previous records for first week collections, grossing just under $1.3 million. The previous highest grossing film in the Middle East was Dhoom:2, which grossed approximately $1.86 million across its entire run. Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi is on course to break this all-time record going into its second week.

    Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi has also had a grand opening week across all overseas markets, including the UK, USA, Australia, Europe, Africa, and Asia, and features in the list of the highest grossers for the opening week in most of these territories.

    Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi has received a tremendous response from all audiences, and the film is set to continue achieving great numbers as it moves into its second week and beyond, and indeed has the potential to finish as one of the biggest blockbusters of all-time.

  • Dr. Patel:

    After reading the review of Sngh.. RBNDJ earned so far 90 crores worldwide! Do u think if the director did select Shahid for the movie, it would’ve worked this way?!

    It’s the magic of Shahrukh Khan, Shahrukh is so big but unfortunately some ppl never value him. and Kalyan, Chetan.. just kill yourself now as u were desperately trying to convince others that the movie is “average”!

  • @fathiya:
    well remembr my last and for my first time, i postd my review on bachna.. And had an argument wid u.. Well, again i’m disagreeing with u! B4 u get me wrong, let me tell u dat reason y im here is 2 check some reviews on rnbdj 2 c what critics have 2 say abt d film and whether my opinion matches with them.. Coz i wanted 2 love dis film but coudnt! Let me also tell you that i was most looking forward 2 this film.. I’m a huge fan of adi & shahrukh.. i had such huge expectation from this film as it marked the return of aditya chopra.. Obviously i loved His ddlj & mohabbatien.. And evn veer zaara of which he wrote story, dialogue, screenplay was such a fantastic film! And even BAH which he had written it, had a unique and a nice story but its other matter that it wasnt well directed ! Thats the amount of expectation that i went with ! And no i was not expecting another ddlj but another brilliant film from adi And i have been disappointed in equal amount ! So dont call me bias me if i dont like this film! Read my next comment on what i felt about this film as this text has good way 2 long. !

  • Nishant: yes.. I remember your name, but I can’t remember our discussion.. anyway.. u loved most of the movies which I did.. but why not Rabne?! I’m not fighting here with u or with anyone if I ask: what did u find bad in this movie?! Could u explain please?

    Today I went to cinema with my family to see it again, and I took with me my 2 daughters who’re not interested very much in indian movies but they watch only the big movies and the very best or famous ones.. and they loved the movie and enjoyed it..

    As I said eralier in one of my comments.. everyone see any movie from a different perspective.. I observed while we were laughing at some funny scenes, and while many ppl were laughing too that some ppl were sitting like statues on their seat with even no smile on their face!! That’s how we are.. what I find funny others won’t and vice versa.

  • i read with utmost horror what all faathiya has to say for our movies ..actually she neednt produce any she is good enough for the publicity and could she spell that bahraini actor for us? so that even we can promote him? is he by the way called ishtiaq akhtar? or gauri shanker marwah?
    just to prove herself right she watches twice thrice in a cinema hall with the same set of family members and the same set of friends at the same cineplex at the same show so thaat ou rproducers dont have a flop in their hands .. i really appreciate her exercise and am immensely thqnkful for her and the likes for saving our film industry from crisis .. wish she had shown the same care for our movies aswell which alaso were made by good directors namely oye lucky and sorry bhai which also starred good actors like shabana .. obviously these films dont catch faaathiyas eyes cos she is very busy promoting our superstars movies wjth her huge coterie of friends and family members which she religiously watches at least three times to declare her utmost devotion .any watch below three times would be sacrilige even if it happens to be a dumbo dostana Yes i read her views on this fiasco also and how she went on about the fabulous collections there too..
    i sincerely hope she makes a movie and let me star in it along with whatsisname bahraini guy .oops didnt read it properly ..will u just sell it out so i can arrange a meeting with my manager?!!!!

    she is defending the movie as if its her own.. a movies success is known by the number of times you get to hear from other people ..there is no such tail of have u seen /dont miss it yaar /for heaven sake do go and see..etc..there is no such talk but im sure faathiyas conversations in bahrain must be cented arounfd the movie and not what she has to cook for her husband !!!!

  • Yamani: Firstly I’m not married.. I divorced my husband 20 years ago and I got plenty of time to watch movies.. but I don’t waste my time watching movies like Golmaal, Welcome, Kiya Love Story Hai, Maine Pyaar Ku Kiya, Bhagn Baag, Pher Hera Pheri.. whatever.. these movies r “excellent” for u to love and be some super hits, but not for me dear Yamaani!

    Secondly: Shahbana is no more Shabana.. but turned into “banana”! started to do some silly dumbo movies just to “win” at the box office! last year she did a movie with Boman Irani ( I can’t remember the name) and I was surprised that she signed for that role, and now she did the above mentioned ( and who for God Sake will watch movies called (oye Lucky or Sorry Bhai)! stupid names indicates that they’re stupid movies e.g. Hello, Darling! Shabana’s career is over, she’s no more (Shabana) who gave us wonderful movies like Masoom, Bahavna & Arth, and a very bald movie like (Fire).

    Thirdly, I’m a big fan of SHAHRUKH KHAN.. SHAHRUKH KHAN.. he is Shahrukh Khan who is your king of bollywood and his movies are the best and all the world admire him, love him, and a statue was made for him at Madam Tusud in London ( can u deny this fact Yamani or u just want to prove that u r right?!) I didn’t admire someone like Tushar, Parish Rawal, Jackie Shroff or or that actor who’s name is Sheryas..something like that.. Shahrukh is not GOVINDA.. OHHHH.. GOVINDA… this actor whom u all considered (funny) or some considered him as a God too!

    So Yamani.. don’t shut your eyes on all the positive comments about Rabne.. and that it’s a successful movies.. and that it’s doing well worldwide and even better than Dhoom2 or SIK.

    I’m not trying to prove that I’m right.. but what I’m trying to convince people HERE is the following: ENHANCE YOUR TASTE FOR MOVIES.. LEAVE BEHIND THOSE KACHRA WHICH IS REALLY DISGRACE TO INDIAN CINEMA.. A MOVIE LIKE GOLMAAL RETURNS.. IT DID WELL..YAH.. AND THAT’S BECAUSE THE MAJORITY LOVE THOSE CRAPS.. BUT A SUPER HIT MOVIE “SOMETIMES” WON’T MAKE IT AN EXCELLENT ONE, AS I ALREADY MENTIONED.

    RBNDJ is really a good movie, my niece saw it (3 times!) so far.. I saw it twice and enjoyed it for 2nd time even better, it’s a way better than DDLJ, and it will work in our country for not less than 3 months.

  • there is no need for you faathiya to put your caps lock on.. highlighting will not make you be heard..that you are doing pr exercise for our film fraternity is good enough ..we are getting our money back ..whether in adys pocket or shahrukh is immaterial ..india is earning its revenue and that is pleasing aint it?!!! ..why three times ask your neice to watch the movie 10 times ..the more the better out here we are no such people to watch any movie 10 times s o suit yourself and watch it as many times as you want..but please stop telling us to do so!!!
    who is denying that the movie is not doing well.i dont grudge anyone its success. i f people found it average who are you to put it in their heads to accept what you feel…
    itmake work better than gone with the wind for all i care ..rnbdj is no masterpiece.

    but i pity your taste ..why should shabana work in movies like fire and masoom all the time? she is at liberty to do roles what befits her tastes and likes …even smita patil did a namak harlaal which was a potboiler in her times

    if you find our movies so kachra please make a movie yourself and stop bemoaning what we are doing here..i read you comments defending dostana which was the pits as far as the cinema is concerned . i sure know your taste!!! for someone who liked sanwariya immensely when the entire nation of india rejected it just goes to show how bad your taste is in movies ..so please leave your public relation exercise behind ..and please let us know about the new bahraini hero in town!! or is he just doing a side kick role in the much awaited gajini!!.name one movie star from your country before cursing down paresh rawal tushar kapoor and ajay devgans of this country whom we love so much ..what they do on screen is for our sake..meaning try and entertain us ..and if you are nort liking them stop talking about them.
    im not discussing srk here ..im just saying that the movie is average and doesnt need your support what is destined to gross!!..period
    its sad to hear that you are divorced..i guess your husband too didnt share your likes and dislikes…

  • Yamaani: Who are you exactly?! Are u a producer or a director in bollywood?!!

    I know that 90% of the audience in yr country didn’t like a great movie which SLB did, and which was his best movie ever( and he said so.. it’s my best movie) and that proves that yr people have such a bad taste!
    I don’t need to repeat myself everytime.. I’m not a negative commentator on this website who’s always saying bad stuff about bollywood and the actors.. I’m expressing my opinion only.. what I found good, I praised them, what I found bad.. I say negative things about them ( and to hell with the box office collections).
    I was Ajay Devgan’s fan, after watching his excellent job in “The Legend of Baghat Singh” but now I changed my mind coz he’s after the box office success. I can’t blame him coz he’s married, got a wife and a kid to look after.. so if some serious movies never please the audience except movies like Golmaal, so he has no choice as an actor, but to entertain the audience according to their taste! ( and thank God that a movie like TZP for Aamir Khan didn’t flop, actually it’s strange that all of u loved it!)

    I was a big fan of Shabana in the past.. she was my favourite actress with Dimple Kapadia, and lateron Madhuri Dixit.. I still respect Madhuri coz she’s not doing many movies lately but some good ones, and did one which was a beautiful movie.. and also didn’t win.. was a flop ( which also indicates and proves that the audience has a very bad taste.. never value good mvoies like Aja nachle!)

    As I said.. Shabana turned into “banana” to please the audience
    Ajay Devgan with his sad face and eyes turned into a cartoonist.. to please ppl like u Yamaani, became a joker!

  • And Yamani: Haha.. u said let yr niece watch Rabne 3 times or more.. what about u people?!! DDLJ worked for 10 years and continuously which means every audience saw it more than 20 or 30 times!! And Why?!! that’s the question.. what’s so special about DDLJ?! When I saw it for 1st time in cinema with my sister, and during the release time, when the movie finished we said: The 2nd half was much better than the 1st half, not a bad movie. It’s also Shahrukh’s movie, but Shahrukh did many movies which r much better than DDLJ and as an example his home production and a big movie like (Asoka) which was just excellent.. why didn’t it please the audience?! Even an indian announcer on B4U this week said so.. why Asoka didn’t work at the box office although it’s a great movie?! KKHH & Mohabbetain r much better movies than DDLJ.

    We have to question the audience’s taste.. the fault is in the audience’s taste.. and if bollywood directors and producers are so sorry that some good movies didn’t work at the box office, to let the new good movies work they have to do just one thing: To change the audience! To bring some overseas audiences to live in India then their movies would definitely work!

  • Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi Scores Big In Week One
    Saturday 20th December 2008 16.00 IST

    Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi has done exceedingly well in week one with business of around 41 crore nett. The film has done well in all circuits of india though Bihar is on the lower side. Mysore is record breaking and North is very strong. The film should emerge a Superhit and it remains to be seen if it can do blockbuster business. The 8th day is steady at places.

Leave a Comment