Prasoon Joshi replaces Pahlaj Nihlani as Censor Board chief: New Team appointed

The controversial Pahlaj Nihalani has been sacked and replaced by lyricist Prasoon Joshi. Nihalani’s tenure as Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) chief was riddled with controversies.

The filmmaker objected to scenes in films like Aligarh, Udta Punjab and more recent films like Lipstick Under My Burkha, Indu Sarkar and Babumoshai Bandookbeaaz. Nihalani had also objected to usage of ‘intercourse’ word in one of the promos of Shah Rukh Khan’s ‘Jab Harry Met Sejal’

The new chief, Prasoon Joshi, who won the Padma Shri in 2015, is one of the film industry’s leading lyricists and screenwriters.


A new team of board members has been appointed, which includes actress Vidya Balan, filmmaker Vivek Agnihotri amongst others:

  • Prasoon Joshi (Chief)
  • Gautami Tadimalla
  • Narendra Kohli
  • Naresh Chandra Lal
  • Neil Herbert Nongkynrih
  • Vivek Agnihotri
  • Waman Kendre
  • Vidya Balan
  • T.S. Nagabharana
  • Ramesh Patange
  • Vani Tripati Tikoo
  • Jeevitha Rajasekhar
  • Mihir Bhuta


Leave a Comment