20th Annual Screen Awards Winners: Predictions

The nominations for the 20th Annual Screen Awards was announced on Tuesday. There are 31 categories in total, we pick the top contenders who we think could go on to win awards this season.

  • Best Actor (Male) – Farhan Akhtar (Bhaag Milkha Bhaag)
  • Best Actor (Female) – Deepika Padukone (Ram Leela)
  • Best Film – The Lunchbox
  • Best Director – Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra (Bhaag Milkha Bhaag)
  • Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male) – Anupam Kher (Special 26)
  • Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female) – Richa Chadda – Ram-Leela
  • Best Actor Popular Choice – Difficult to predict, should be between Aamir, Hrithik, SRK, Ranbir
  • Best Actress Popular Choice – Deepika Padukone
  • Best Actor in a Negative Role – Rishi Kapoor – D-Day
  • Best Actress in a Negative Role – Supriya Pathak/Kapur – Ram-Leela
  • Best Actor in a Comic Role (Male-Female) – Varun Sharma – Fukrey
  • Most Promising Newcomer (Female) – Vaani Kapoor – Shuddh Desi Romance
  • Most Promising Newcomer (Male) – Sushant Singh Rajput – Kai Po Che
  • Best Child Artist – Japtej Singh (young Milkha) – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
  • Best Background Score – AR Rahman – Raanjhanaa
  • Best Music – Ankit Tiwari, Jeet Ganguly, Mithoon – Aashiqui 2
  • Most Promising Debut Director – Ritesh Batra – The Lunchbox
  • Best Playback Singer (Male) – Arijit Singh – Tum Hi Ho (Aashiqui 2)
  • Best Playback Singer (Female) – Shreya Ghoshal – Sunn Raha Hain Na Tu… (Aashiqui2)
  • Best Lyrics – Zinda – Prasoon Joshi (Bhaag Milkha Bhaag)
  • Best Cinematography – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag – Binod Pradhan
  • Best Action – Krrish 3
  • Best Dialogue – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag – Prasoon Joshi
  • Best Screenplay – The Lunchbox – Ritesh Batra
  • Best Story – The Lunchbox – Ritesh Batra
  • Best Editing – Madras Cafe – Chandrashekar Prajapati
  • Best Costume – Dhoom 3 – Anaita Shroff, Rushi Sharma and Manoshi Nath
  • Best Sound Design – Madras Café – Bishwadeep Chatterjee
  • Best Production Design – Dhoom: 3 – Acropolis – Sumit Basu, Snigdha Basu, Rajnish Hedao
  • Best Special Effects – Krrish 3 – Red Chillies Entertainment
  • Best Choreography – Nagada Sang Dhol (Ram-Leela) – Sameer and Arsh Tanna

Do post your list of winners in the comments section below. Go here for the full list of Screen Awards 2014 nominations



  • best director is rakesh rashan for krrish 3 then best actress popular is priyanka chopra for krrish 3 then best actor popular is hrithik roshan for krrish 3 then best action goes to krrish 3 then best playback singer female goes to monai thakur for sawaar loon

  • SRK is going to win for Popular Choice award!!!!!!! KING KHAN is popular gloablly….the only one!!! global superstar!!

  • Best Special Effects should go to Dhoom 3. Now many Hr fans will say Krrish 3 should win but it had more quantity than ‘quality’. There were too many VFX in K3 which looked fake.
    Dhoom 3 had much better ‘quality’ effects though they were less in quantity.
    Eg. Two Aamir’s interaction, Bike transformation, final scene falling from cliff etc. Those few scenes were better than any VFX scene in Krrish 3
    Award should go for quality over quantity.
    Even in Hollywood movies like Inception, Hugo won the Best VFX Oscar inspite of having very less VFX scenes than Alice In Wonderland and Transformers in 2010 and 2011 respectively.

  • Who cares about screen awards? ?last year kat and salman won for their respective catagory!so non actors also can win screen awards. Nominations are disgusting this year.
    Where was HR in best actor catagory?7
    where were lootera and ranjhaana in best film? ?
    Where was vivek obrai in best negative male?
    Where was kangana in best supporting female? ?
    frankly,the worst nomination i have ever seen.

  • @indicine:i don’t agree in best singer female.it might go to Monali Thakur for sawar loon/sona mohapatra for ambarsariya. These are unique song and more deserving than shreya ghoshal. But shreya was gud too.

  • Most of the award winners predicted by Indicine is right. I think in popular category Award will be given to SRK no doubt, because Aamir won’t attend award so as Hr too and also there is uncertainty of collection of k3, and also popular choice Award given on popularity basis too so this award goes to Srk, I would like best singer award to be given to Monali – sawaar loo or Sona – Ambersariya.

  • I just cann’t believe that they have ignored 5 deserving candidate for best actor i.e
    hrithik for k3
    akki for s26
    ranveer for lootera
    ranveer for RL
    john for madras cafe

    but they have included ranbir and srk in critics. Shame on you jury! No offence to any star though.

  • I dont care about any category here but I just wanted to see if my song of the year ‘Tum Hi Ho’ had any nominations and yes Arijit is mentioned in Best Playback Singer Male category so I’ll be vying for him…

    Every other category- as always it will be a case of get in line and we will hand out an award to you regardless of how good or bad your performance was… Such a hoax these shows are but for once it be nice to see a deserving candidate win a genuine award- go Arijit go and claim whats rightfully yours…

  • Aamir Khan deserves BEST ACTOR (popular) for Dhoom 3 if it is not manipulate.

    Aamir Khan Rocks the nation with Dhoom 3.

  • Indicine the predictions are almost perfect with just 4 category’s which i strongly disagree:

    Launchbox – Best film…crap…It is just critically acclaimed movie…i felt the movie very boring…thank god it ended in less 2 hrs…dabawallas..

    Best actor in negative role should go to Vivek oberoi for Krish 3…Rishi kapoor hardly had more than 15-20 mints role in that movie…

    Best screenplay: Special Chabbis….it is the one which deserves it badly..

    Best Story : Should go to BMB …

  • indicine has noted krrish 3 for best action,best effects and hrithik for best actor popular only and stupid haters feel indicine is obssessed with krrish 3, woww such double standard people deserve to be in kala paani jail.

  • Best actor: Hrithik Roshan for Krrish
    Best Director: Rakesh Roshan for Krrish
    Best Negative Role Vivek Oberoi for Krrish
    Best Negative role female Kangana Renouth for Krrish
    Special Effects: Krrish

  • Aamir and Hrithik do not bother about awards – their work speaks for itself. Awards lost their meaning when SRK made sure he got one every year…………

Leave a Comment