Kidnap Review – Kidnap Movie Review

Kidnap has created a buzz for several reasons. Imraan Khan is back after his highly successful debut Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na. The promos of Kidnap were sleek and stylish, Minissha Lamba in her all new sexy avatar and of course the bikini. A Sanjay Dutt movie after a long time is always something to look forward to. And lastly, the director is Sanjay Gadhvi, the man behind the super successful Dhoom movies. Drona was the only movie slated for an Eid release but with Kidnap being pre-poned, the movie has managed to steal all the limelight. But does it meet expectations?

Kidnap revolves mainly around two characters. One a man and the other a boy. Vikranth Raina (Sanjay Dutt) is one of the richest men in the world. He has a strained relationship with his wife and is living aboard seperately from the past several years. Sonia (Minissha Lamba) misses a father in her life and this often leads to arguements with her mom. On Christmas, Sonia is kidnapped by Kabir (Imraan Khan). The name of the kidnapper, the location and the reason is unknown!

Kidnap Review

Kidnap has the right ingredients for the audience that love masala flicks. A hot Minissha Lamba in skimpy clothes, an item number by Sophie Chaudhary in clothes which if reduced by little would leave nothing to the imagination, decent songs which are beautifully picturized, great action sequences. But its the script that lets the film down. The main motive behind the whole Kidnap, when revealed, is a complete turn off.

Kidnap suffers from a story thats hard to digest. Without giving the story away let me brief you on some of the scenes.

  • There is a sensual bath with loads of cleavage under a waterfall, which reminds us of Zeenat Aman, all this while the girl is held in hostage!
  • Vikrant Raina releases a crimininal locked up in jail. Raina manages to do so by burning down the jail kitchen and escaping in a fire brigader’s uniform.
  • In a chase sequence, Vikrant is in pursuit of Kabir who climbs buildings like a hero straight out of a superhero film. Vikrant is no less, he gives Kabir a good chase performing those unbelievable stunts.
  • Dont you think its a tad bit unrealistic for the visibly unfit father of a grown up daughter to be so athletic? Also, at times you can clearly notice the body double. Mind you, the exact same chase is one of the highlights of the movie and has been shot well.
  • The climax during the New Year eve too is very unrealistic. Not a single soul notices the gun in the Ice box nor while Vikrant pulls the trigger!

The chemistry between Imraan and Minissha is poor. Minissha infact shares a better chemistry with Sanjay Dutt in those limited scenes they share.

Sanjay Dutt sleep walks through his role. Imran Khan needs to work on his dialogue delivery. He’s fine in his much looked forward-to negative role. Minissha Lamba manages to distract with ample cleavage show, with limited scope for histrionics she does well. Vidya Malvade doesn’t suit her role.

Overall, Kidnap disappoints. If well-performed action sequences, skin show in abundance and great locales is what you wish to see, Kidnap is worth a watch. Else, wait for the DVD. At the boxoffice, the hype due to several reasons mentioned above, would ensure a good opening. The lower budget (20 crores) compared to most biggies and good opening could result in the cost being recovered by the end of Week 1.

Rating: ★★☆☆☆ Kidnap Review Verdict – Average!

Other Notes – Both Kidnap and Drona turned out to be disappointing. It will be interesting to see if Kidnap will succeed at the box-office. How the movie sustains on Monday after the intial 4 day weekend will be crucial. Check back in tomorrow for updates on the box-office collections of both Drona and Kidnap.

Vote on the Kidnap Review Poll below. If you haven’t watched the movie yet please select “Yet to watch Kidnap”.

Post your comments on our Kidnap Review or post your very own Kidnap Reviews below.

How did you like Kidnap?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Stay updated with the latest in Bollywood - Follow us on Twitter or Facebook
 

Comments

Vitsal Bhatia:  (October 2, 2008 at 7:28 pm)

First one to send comment on Kidnap Reviews.

Movie is ok not tooo good. Not too bad. Time pass

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
SachinTheGreat:  (October 2, 2008 at 9:12 pm)

Kidnap is Copycat of “Butterfly on wheel”……………….

This is storyline of Butterfly on wheel:

Neil and Abby Warner have the perfect life and a perfect marriage. With their beautiful young daughter, Sophie, they are living the American dream… until today. When Sophie is suddenly kidnapped, they have no choice but to comply with the abductors demands. The kidnapper, Ryan, a cold and calculating sociopath, takes over their lives with the brutal efficiency of someone who has nothing to lose. In the blink of an eye Neil and Abby’s safe and secure existence is turned upside down. Over the next twenty-four hours they are at the mercy of a man who wants only one thing. That they do his bidding. It soon becomes clear that Ryan’s demands are all the more terrifying… because he doesn’t want their money. What he wants is for Neil and Abby’s life, the life that they have built over 10 years, to be systematically dismantled and destroyed. Piece by piece. With time running out on their little girl, Neil and Abby realize their nightmare is about to take its most deadly turn: they will have to face Ryan’s final, horrifying challenge -- would they kill an innocent man to save their own child? In the far distance a solitary light burns in the window of a lodge as the car glides to a halt -- and Neil knows it is a question only he can answer -- when Ryan hands him the gun…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
SUDIPTO:  (October 2, 2008 at 11:02 pm)

NOT THAT BAD AS THE COMMENT SAYS…IT’S LIKE ANY OTHER SANJAY GADVI MOVIE…
1) ACTRESSES LOOK DAMN HOT & ROUGH…
2) ACTORS LOOK DAMN COOL…
3) STUNNING LOCATIONS…
4) GOOD CAMERA WORK…
ENDING OF THE CINEMA IS QUITE DIFFERENT….U DOESN’T EXPECT THAT…U FEEL LIKE U WANT TO KNOW ABOUT THE ENDING…
VILLAINS OF GADVI,S FILM CANNOT BE CALLED A TYPICAL VILLAIN….THEY ARE MORE LIKE NEGATIVE HEROES…U CAN SEE IN DHOOM 2…ALTHOUGH HRITIK WAS THE VILLAIN AUDIENCE LIKED HIM MORE THAN ABHISHEK….
WATCH THE FILM …U ARE GOING TO ENJOY IT…1ST HALF IS AMONG THE HOTTEST OF INDIAN CINEMA…SECOND HALF IS THRILLING…
THERE ARE SOME MINOR SETBACKS OF THE FILM … WELL EVERY CINEMA HAS THAT PARTICULAR QUALITY…
AFTERALL IT’S A MASALA FLICK …NOT SOME CINEMA WITH VERY HARD INNER MEANING….

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Manu:  (October 2, 2008 at 11:37 pm)

nice movie! but it could have been much better than wat it is.
BUT i STILL think with the glamour package , action sequences and a bit of thrill being the usb of the movie ,the movie is far ahead of drona
I would RECOMMEND this movie

rating- 2.5/5

DRONA’S RATING

rating-0.25/10

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Cybersupam:  (October 3, 2008 at 1:39 am)

Very sad, at least 2.5 out of 5 could have given for Kidnap. But a film’s success doesnt depend on a review n its rating. It totally depends on how curiously people take a risk to watch, n finally how much it can do its “paisa wasool”. Just in case of Kidnap at least there is a limelight to become successful than crap “Drona -- A Senseless Fantasy Tale” starring Junior B directed by duplicate Gold-ie Behl.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Suniel:  (October 3, 2008 at 4:06 am)

My Kidnap Review

Another shit movie for Eid :(

Senseless, meaningless, suspenseless thriller. The only suspense they hide when they reveal it.. is pucca stupid. Couldnt they have come up with something better :|

Minisha Lamba is sexy.. I almost felt like Sophie’s boo** would pop out any freaking moment. Imran cant speak hindi well and Sanju baba always looks like he just got up from sleep.

SO my review rating for Kidnap is 1.5 stars.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Mainak Roy:  (October 3, 2008 at 7:46 am)

I found the movie a complete paisa vasool. The chase sequences were good, just like sanjay gadhvi’s other movies, but unbelievable at parts, however, overall the movie was a good timepass. Girls clad in bikinis, guys supercool, after all thats what we seek in a film. The storyline is weak. Imran Khan is good at parts, he is cool and he would definiteley shine more in the future and emerge as a big star, but the main problem at present is the too cute image of Jaane Tu……. . It seems unbelievable, but he is a good actor. So another Khan on the block. Minisha, though tries to look sexy, yet her face has something which makes her look sick. And the actress in her mother’s role???? In what respect can that be her mother? I found her much better and much suited in Chak De. Well, overall, the movie is a one time sure watch if you want to see a fast paced movie, specially in this festive season. Enjoy the Pujas and Dusherra folks…..

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Namrata:  (October 3, 2008 at 8:59 am)

hey guys the movie was no that bad.. I dont say good but much better than the other release…

To start Imaran looked handsome, he really shed out that chocolate boy image and molded well into the bad boy image, acting wise could be better. Coming to Minissha, she looked really hot had a small role but carried it well. Sanjay Dutt was as usual good. Few scenes were no doubt over ur imagination but Overall i enjoyed the movie and it was worth a watch. My weekend was made.

My Rating would be 2.75/5

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
bhundelat:  (October 3, 2008 at 11:54 am)

It seems sanjay gadvi is getting worse with every film,he is taking success for granted.Eventhough Dhoom2 was a bigger hit than Dhoom ,it was a worse and totally immature movie,take out Hrithik Roshan from the film and the film would have been a disaster,it worked only because of the way Hrithik was presented in the film.
Now coming to the point ,Kidnap is one of the most illogical films I have seen,it looks certain that it is an Indianised version of a Hollywood film,the script,direction and acting are all ordinary,by spending money on the technical side of the film you cannot hide its flaws, it might still earn money because its competitor Drona is one of the worst films of all times.Sanjay Dutt looks haggard,Imran Khan has bitten off more than he can chew,he dosent look like a psychopath/sociopath,his dialogue delivery is poor,he should do only romantic films in future or take some acting lessons from his uncle. The lesser the said about the ladies in the film the better,they don’t have much to do.I feel that actresses in Hindi movies are becoming whorish day by day,I wonder when Minisha Lamba and Sophie Chaudhary will have sons and if they will watch this movie what respect they will have for their mother,if they have daughters then no problem,because they would certainly be one step ahead of their mother.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
SachinTheGreat:  (October 3, 2008 at 2:50 pm)

When i watched LoveStory 2050, i thought it to be the worst movie of 2008 but nahhhhhhhh here comes its competetior KIDNAP.
This movie is all about clevages. nothing else
Minissha Lamba: if u cant act girl then dont take role like this one
Imran: Dude, get out of JTYJN mode, dialogue delievery and everything else was DUHHHHHHHHH
Sanjay Dutt: A lot of False attitude
Vidya: Hahhhhhh, sometimes looked HOTTER than her daughter

And Songs; Lesser we talk is better

Besides, there are several loopholes in movie too, as Why Sanjay Dutt is feared of water?? Who is the man he is watching in his dream???

Sanjay Gadhvi, this was not expected from u

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
avani bidwalkar:  (October 3, 2008 at 6:59 pm)

the best movie ever seen…………….its true……………….
emran as usual was the cutest and the mot hot character………..
i just love him………………i hope he reads this comment………………..
it was worth watching……………

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Alexandro De Perero:  (October 4, 2008 at 1:23 am)

The worst movie EVER!!!..

Are u guys NUTS to say this movie is OK???

THe whole theatre was LOLing throughout the movie!!!From the very first seen when Manissha calls Vidya her MOTHER.. how can u even imagine them as mother and daughter?? SHEEESH!!!

The whole movie was illogical and pathetic..

What was Imrans motive? to make sunjay dutt play and game and make him a good man?? that too for a very silly reason? and at last he helped sunjay dutt get off, his very much illogical, fear of water!!! WHY?? he wasnt taking revenge on sunja dutt… then he was helping him or something?? and everything in the movie went as per his plans and nothing special happened for imran to change and become a good man.

Also when imran was small and his friend fell of the ladder, he had to steal sunjay dutts car only to get him to a hospital??? why not call for a auto or a taxi?? for that he should be sent to jail.. nothing wrong..

Also when sunjay dutt decided not to take Imrans calls he so easily comes to their very home give a ring and go.. and that scene was pathetic too… he was using binoculors from one end of the house to see sunjay dutt standing in the other end. and inspite of all the security cameras and high security planted in the house he so easily broke in!!!..

The only good part in the whole movie was Imrans jump scenes.. looked a little realisteic.. that too a liiiiiitlle..

and IMRAN is a veryyy bad actor.. he has just got looks and nothing else .. nothing.. he doesnt look like a phsycho at allll..

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
kapil:  (October 4, 2008 at 2:40 am)

Boss it was a really stupid movie.. do not watch it in the theatree watch it only for the skin show…….whicih is awsome.. miniiishha lambas dream come true ” I want men to fantasise abt me ‘ yes they wuld after seeing this movie….great skin show movie..has nothing… in it.. looks like it was shot on high def. camera that is why the pictures were looking so beautiful in the hall…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
alisha:  (October 4, 2008 at 3:16 am)

whoa lulls !! movie is actually kinda good but only cuz of imran i mean serioulsy
minissha lamba seriously needs to get her nose fixed!!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
reba:  (October 4, 2008 at 1:02 pm)

wat an unadulterated piece of shit! usually, I am willing to suspend my belief for bollywood potboilers. I liked Love Story 2050 also which was shredded apart by almost everyone, bcoz priyanka looked hot, harman looked cool and the effects were nice. But this week, both the movies which released were shit! PURE SHIT! I would advise everyone to stay away! This movie especially had no chemistry between actors, minishha looks ugly, imraan has absolutely no acting range, he is fit only to do college guys role like in his debut movie and there is absolutely nothing , NOTHING paisa vasool about this movie. DISASTER, AAAAAAAARGH!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
tania:  (October 5, 2008 at 6:36 am)

oh i think that imran is sooooo handsom

and by the way alexandro if you didn’t even like the boy and think he’s a nut then why don’t you go to indiaand tell the director to bring you in this movie and look at yourself what you look like ………. well i am just gusseing ah a donkey .

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
bubblegum:  (October 5, 2008 at 6:46 am)

all u ugly boys just shut up..dnt feel jealous that u dnt hv the looks…manisha looked discusting in the movie..she looked like a stripper….you stupid basterds you ugly brats i wanna feed your bones to the cats because puppys or dogs are much much much much handsome than you

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Sarah J:  (October 5, 2008 at 6:50 am)

all you peoples shooosh up!! imran reminds me of that wannabe from this made up popstar band…can’t even remeber the name, bpathetic one-hit wonders! they turned out to be gays…hahahaha! imran LOL!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
bimal:  (October 5, 2008 at 2:52 pm)

GUYS IMRAAN ROCKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

what a turn around after such a lovely cute movie (JTYJN). Imran is back with bangs. i feel there is no comaprison of imran with new stars such as ranbir, neil nitin because imranis far ahead than all of them.
just go and watch you’d love the bad image of imran. and abt munna bhai, he is always good as he is in kidnap.

my rating is 4.5/5
and two thumbs up for kidnap and imran

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
alisha:  (October 6, 2008 at 4:52 am)

OMGSH KIDNAP IS GOOD !! DO NOT LISTEN TO THIS SITE !! kIDNAP IS GOOD!! I WOULD GIVE IT

4/5 STARS!!! IMRAN AND MINISSHA ROCKED THE MOVIE!!! REALLY GOOD ACTING, SUSPENSE OF WHATS

GONNA HAPPEN NEXT AND A GOOD MESSAGE AND CONCEPT!!! SO PLZ

THIS MOVIE IS NOT A MONEY WASTER!!! SERIOUSLY IT’S A REALLY GOOD MOVIE!!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
asha:  (October 6, 2008 at 8:01 am)

I think that imran is so so so handsome

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Aryan:  (October 6, 2008 at 11:45 am)

Hi All,
Here r my thoughts on KIDNAP…
The movie starts wit a bang…never expected Minisha to turn out like this though felt somthing when i saw the posters of the movie…
the storyline not much to write abt and as far as suspense is concerned thr was only one such scene which makes u anxious and climax… i felt shud hav ended on a sad note…

Performance: it is evident that Imran has a good future but i feel he didnt hav the rugged look to suite the character…Sanju baba looks like he will fall down ny moment…Minisha was the surprise package for me…im sure she will draw some crowd as the word spreads…

Overal the movie is average 2/5
So my suggestion its a movie for those who like Imran and plp who love watching wel toned body of a women…its nothing more than this and ya Minisha mother’s role played by chakde grl(Malvade) is actually hotter than Minisha..

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Asif Khan:  (October 6, 2008 at 2:46 pm)

Kidnap is a bad movie. Hey people please donĀ“t waste your money and time. This is a bad movie what i ever seen in my life.

And Imran Khan is not an actor, because he cannot act.

Imran Khan please you can go home and watch the cartoon like Donald duck , mickey mouse and tom and jerry , because even tom an jerry can kidnap better then you .

you can leave the Bollywood , because you cannot act. Oh my god I have waste my 300 Rupees.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Sarika:  (October 7, 2008 at 10:53 pm)

kidnap is an awesom movie yaar
it was amazing
i think sanjay has done a fantastic job in kidnap
and imran khan was fab as usual
minisha was not that bad
overall its a good movie.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Deeps:  (October 8, 2008 at 12:21 am)

Hi All….

Just saw the movie KIDNAP… More than being a serious thriller….it turned out to be a funny scrap movie. I watched it just for the sake of Imran. But he dint impress me in this one. he was very stiff in his emotions and had a poor dialouge delivery. I think he should work more on them.

N Minnisha…..what can i say….the skin show was very irrelevant to the situation she was in…. She was kidnapped…..how funny! Couldn’t really relate that feeling seeing her. Only her body is good…but face is ugly…. her mother (vidya) was super hot n real sexy than her.

Sanju baba was half awake in the whole movie. All the emotions b/w the characters seemed fake…as if they are only acting. Very poor direction from Sanjay Ghadvi.

Imran please be careful while choosing a script n we don’t want to see you in such scrap movies. still u were good….not bad!

wasted my time on this movie! Still Imran I like U!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 

 

Leave a Reply

  • Name