Dhamaal Movie Review

Note: Henceforth, Indicine.com Reviews will be divided into 5 parts. Introduction, Story, Review, Performances and Indicine Verdict.
Dhamaal Movie Review
Dhamaal Movie Review – By Anuradha

Introduction

Buddha Mar Gaya had taught me a lesson, never judge a movie by its cast. So with zero expectations I entered the movieplex to watch Dhamaal directed by Indra Kumar (Masti, Ishq). I have been a fan of Indra Kumar since his Ishq days but his last few movies (Pyaare Mohan, Rishtey) have been disappointing. So what’s the verdict on Dhamaal? Is it a laugh riot? Is Indra Kumar back in form?

First the Story

Dhamaal is a grass root comedy movie about four goofy, useless youngsters and a cop Kabir Nayak (Sanjay Dutt). The foolhardy gang of four includes Roy (Riteish Deshmukh), who feels his purpose of birth is to be the best detective. Aditya Shrivastav (Arshad Warsi) also called Adi is the jack of none with half knowledge, adds to the great proficiency of this half-boiled group. His brother Manav Shrivastav (Javed Jaffery) is always merry but unaware of the fact that he tops the list of idiots. Last but not the least is the all time petrified Boman Contractor (Aashish Chowdhury). His worst nightmare is his father, Nari Contractor (Asrani).

The idea of work for this adorable gang of idiots is small time conning. In this process they get themselves juggled into a life threatening yet a witty and amusing situation. The chase begins when they get involved in the murder of Bose (Prem Chopra), a notorious criminal on whom police inspector Kabir Nayak (Sanjay Dutt) had set eyes on. The criminal informs the four about a hidden treasure that makes their lives even more ecstatic. But Kabir desperate for his promotion gets suspicious on the idiotic troop. One misfortune leads to another and the fool hardy’s get trapped into hilarious situations that are side-splitting.

Movie Review

Dhamaal starts off brilliantly. The perfect execution of the script by the director combined with the brilliant comic timing of the actors hold the film together in the first half, which is filled with jokes that are extremely funny. While the introduction of the 4 characters is funny, the car break-down scene and the chemistry between the 4 lead characters gets the house down. The first half sets up the atmosphere and the mood for a even better and funnier second half. But unfortunately the second half slightly disappoints. The pace dips, the jokes are no longer as funny as they were. The introduction of a few more characters in the latter half too does not help.

Director Indra Kumar is back in form after the disastrous Pyaare Mohan although he ought to have worked harder, especially on the second half. Hats off to the director, for delivering a comic caper without a female character. No love angle, miniskirts and deep necked tops. This is certainly a welcome change… The music by Adnan Sami is good.

Performances

For Sanjay Dutt, its a been there, done it a million times kind of role. He sleepwalks through it. Arshad Warsi is as always outstanding. Riteish Deshmukh stand out with a brilliant performance. He even manages to outshine Arshad Warsi in a few scenes. Javed Jaffery has a role that resembles Hrithik Roshan in Koi Mil Gaya. He carries off the role of a funny mentally challenged guy with confidence and delivers a stellar performance. Aashish Chaudhary manages to make an impact. Arsani, Tiku Talsania, Vijay Raaz and the rest of the cast is good.

Indicine.com Movie Verdict

Overall, Dhamaal is a complete time pass entertainer. Its not a sex comedy filled with vulgar one liners, but a clean Family entertainer. Personally for me, the first half itself was Paisa Vasool.

My rating for Dhamaal would be 3 and a half on 5 stars.

Rating: ★★★½☆

Your comments are valuable to us. Post comment

Stay updated with the latest in Bollywood - Follow us on Twitter or Facebook
 

Comments

neel thakur:  (September 7, 2007 at 2:06 pm)

Excellent movie worth class comedy. not to be missed

neel

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 1

 
neel thakur:  (September 7, 2007 at 2:06 pm)

Excellent movie worth class comedy. not to be missed

neel

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 1

 
Anurag Sharma:  (September 7, 2007 at 3:52 pm)

Bakwas movie… Dont waste your time.

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 1

 
kavi:  (September 7, 2007 at 4:27 pm)

All the reviews have been positive and this is quite refreshing and should help the film cement it’s box office status in the coming weeks. The first show in London is in two hours and i’m already all exited to see the film.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Vishal Bhatia:  (September 8, 2007 at 7:50 am)

Now -a-days life is full of tension, workload etc, and if still you are able to take out 2and half hrs for DHAMAAL, it is worth. while watching the movie you will forget all your tensions and tiredness.

In short great movie to watch full time pass and above all clean movie which you can watch with your grandmother as well as your kids.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
SAIPRIYA:  (September 8, 2007 at 7:51 am)

In short Great movie…. full fun anf complete paisa vasool ….

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
gujuboy canada:  (September 8, 2007 at 5:41 pm)

hear good reviewswill see during weekend

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1

 
yash:  (September 9, 2007 at 8:06 am)

Love it… Good Movie…. must watch if wann to laugh for 2and half hr.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
AARTI:  (September 9, 2007 at 8:07 am)

Good movie, Full of fun. Good job by director and offcourse all actor.

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0

 
Vikas:  (September 9, 2007 at 3:20 pm)

Going to c the movie this weekend …thnx frnds

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Vikas:  (September 9, 2007 at 11:03 pm)

Saw d movie…1st half is ok…2nd half sucks a bit….6/10….
go for this movie if u r really desperate to watch one

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Varron Attrri:  (September 10, 2007 at 12:39 pm)

I am a big fan of Director Indra Kumar, as i have seen ishq, Mann, Masti which is the laugh riot.
this time he is perfectly made the judgement with Dhamaal, really its a complete entertainer. complete paisa vasool…………..so go and watch it on the movie theatres.

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0

 
khoff:  (September 11, 2007 at 7:06 pm)

This is a very good movie for the indian market. Funny and relentlessly making its mark on movie goers. However the first scene was a copy of Johnny English, further down the movie it was a copy of Road trip and further down especially the money chasing scene has been exactly like in the movie Ratrace. Even the attempted rock band and actors jumping into the crowd et all. Honestly some originality in movie making would be greatly appreciated instead of borrowing parts from different movies. To be honest I am a bit ashamed and glad the movies such as dhamaal that have been copied will never be seen by those people who made the original english movies.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Raag:  (September 14, 2007 at 8:21 am)

Salute to the director who made this kind of great movie which passed the message to everybody that Humanity is the only religion in the world and we have to help to the children who don’t have food and home.

10/10

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
nikhil:  (September 14, 2007 at 11:55 am)

oscar award winning acting by sanjay dutt

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
suhail pasha:  (September 19, 2007 at 5:47 pm)

the movie is awesome it real bust ur stomach of laugh

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
salome:  (September 20, 2007 at 11:58 am)

Well watched it yesterday and liked it
Many people were raving about it -- its not great but at the same time its not bad…
very watchable, would rate it a 3 on a scale of 5.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
bhargav:  (October 12, 2007 at 1:42 pm)

2nd best movie after the original golmaal!this is one of those rare comedy movies which is absolutely clean and a total laugh riot…hats off to indra kumar

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Ruchi:  (October 15, 2007 at 6:01 am)

The movie was ok :blink:..It was clean ofcourse and i suppose thats the best part for movies coming up this dayz.Comedy was ok not that great.I was never a fan of Indra kumar though,so i didnt expect much :d
I rate the movie as 7 on 10.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
neha:  (October 24, 2007 at 4:47 pm)

movie is incomplete without javed!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :yeh: :yeh:
just 2……………….. gud comedy :d :d =))
javed u rok :yeh:

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Ajay:  (November 2, 2007 at 10:08 pm)

Just in case, you did not realize, this movie is a copy (in some instances scene by scene) of a hugely popular Hollywood comedy classic ” Its a mad, mad, mad, mad world” which was made in early sixtees…when will Bollywood stop making copies and come up with an original idea….no offence to the cast which was fantastic…but if India can produce good performances, direction and music, then why can the stories be our own…and why do we hide facts about the story’s origin…is it not like theft…where are our ethics…take the reference of a Hollywood flick “Inside Man” where the opening sequences are run with the song “Chhaiya Chhaiya” but the producer was honest to show the source in the movie’s credits, as Bollywood.

Ajay
Toronto

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
zainab:  (June 19, 2008 at 4:33 pm)

dhamaal is the best best movie+comedy i have ever watched! i swear . its sooo funny that i cannot even count that how many times i have watched it over and over again! i love the actors aashish chaudhary and ritesh deshmukh! they r my favourite actors and they r sooooo cute! and their acting was soo good and funny , i just love them! arshad warsi and javed jaffery were also very good too!! good luck in your other coming up new movies!! good luck!! from zainab! if u hav time plz email me on this email
willwitch95@hotmail.com!! bye bye guys! love ya all!!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Nikita Bakshi:  (September 22, 2008 at 10:17 pm)

IT,S A REALLY GREAT MOVIE . THERE’S NOT A SINGLE MINUTE WHEN YOU DON’T GET BORED OR DON’T FIND ANYTHING FUNNY.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
hemant:  (October 26, 2008 at 12:12 pm)

hi your name salman khan hi hemat

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
pinkie:  (May 25, 2009 at 11:44 am)

Brilliant movie.

I loved Javed Jaffrey’s lines and hpow perfectly he spoils suspense all throught the movie..I specially loved his ‘tendua is slowly slowly geeting bigger” line…hahaha

Perferct movie for a family laughter!!!

I give it a 4.5 star rating.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 

 

Leave a Reply

  • Name