IIFA Awards 2008 winners

The IIFA 2008, held in Bangkok, was a grand event. The Bachchan’s being the brand ambassadors of IFFA, formerly announced “The Unforgettable Tour”. Akshay Kumar, Preity Zinta, Madhuri Dixit will also be a part of the world tour along with the Bachchan’s.

At the awards ceremony, it was Chak De India that sweeped the top awards. Shahrukh Khan won the best actor award for his role of Kabir Khan in Chak De India. The best actress award went to Kareena Kapoor for her award winning performance in Jab We Met. The Best Film and Best Director award went to the Chak De India team too.

Note – Aamir Khan’s Taare Zameen Par did not compete for the awards and the movie did not receive a single nomination.

IFFA Awards – Best Actor
Shah Rukh Khan – Chak De India

IIFA Awards – Best Actress
Kareena Kapoor – Jab We Met

IIFA Awards – Best Film
Chak De India

IIFA Awards – Best Director
Shimit Amin – Chak De India

IIFA Awards – Performance in a Supporting Role (Male)
Irrfan Khan – Life In A… Metro

IIFA Awards – Performance in a Supporting Role (Female)
Konkona Sen Sharma – Life In A… Metro

IIFA Awards – Performance in a Comic Role
Govinda – Partner

IIFA Awards – Performance in a Negative Role
Viveik Oberoi – Shootout At Lokhandwala

IIFA Awards – Music Director
IIFA Awards – A.R. Rahman – Barso Re Barso Re (Guru)

IIFA Awards – Best Story
Jaideep Sahni – Chak De India

IIFA Awards – Lyrics
Javed Akhtar – Main Agar Kahoon (Om Shanti Om)

IIFA Awards – Playback Singer (Male)
Shaan – Jabse Tere Naina (Saawariya)

IIFA Awards – Playback Singer (Female)
Shreya Ghoshal – Barso Re (Guru)

IIFA Awards – Achievement in Indian Cinema

IIFA Awards – Outstanding Contribution to Indian Cinema
Shyam Benegal

IIFA Awards – Outstanding Contribution by an Indian in International Cinema
A. R. Rahman

Abhishek Bachchan
Katrina Kaif and Neil Nitin Mukesh were also awarded special awards

IIFA Technical Awards

Best Cinematography
Sudeep Chatterjee (Chak De India)

Best Editing
Amitabh Shukla (Chak De India)

Best Sound Recording
Manas Choudhary & Ali Merchant (Chak De India)

Best Sound Re-recording
Anuj Mathur (Chak De India)

Best Screenplay
Jaideep Sahni (Chak De India) & Anurag Basu (Lifeā€¦in a Metro)

Best Art Direction
Sabu Cyril (Om Shanti Om)

Best Special Effects
Red Chillies Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. (Om Shanti Om)

Best Costume Designing
Manish Malhotra, Karan Johar & Sanjiv Mulchandani (Om Shanti Om)

Best Makeup
Bharat-Dorris, Ravi Indulkar & Namrata Soni (Om Shanti Om)




  • i am very happy about that kareena my favourite won the best actress award
    keeeeeeeeeeep roking BEBO

  • hi i lov shahid and i wish he had won the best actor award not sharukh cause he sucks as a actor and vidya for bhool bhulaaiya not ugly kareena he so ugly

  • I am very much happy for u bebo & I pray for your further success
    may u progress by leaps and bounds

  • why the hell wasnt aamir nominted??? they didnt compete? everybody is jealous of aamir and his success, esspecially shahrurk. the worst actor in bollywood. damn its like a monopoly of shahrukh khan in every award function, each year. either its srk or hrithik… i cannot believe he beat aamir in rang de basanti for kkrish…… FUCK YOU HRITHIK AND FUCK YOU SHAHRUKH!

  • it was the worst award function. all things was preplanned and given for business purpose not to identify and reward the best. all awards has given to make relationship with other or been purchased by actor like SHAHROKH KHAN as he does it always. he is the person who don’t know acting and spreading corruption in Bollywood.

Leave a Comment