Jodha Akbar Movie Review – IndiaFM

Jodha Akbar Review – Official Indicine review

Jodha Akbar directed by Oscar nominated film (Lagaan) director Ashutosh Gowarikar is a historical love story featuring superstar Hrithik Roshan and Aishwarya Rai Bachchan as Akbar and Jodha. The movie has been in the making for the last 2 and a half years. The first release date was October 12th 2007, but soon postponed to January 25th 2008. Ashutosh suffered from a back problem and again the movie was postponed to a day after Valentines day, February 15th. The movie was also surrounded by a lot of controversy which helped build up the curiosity level. Jodha Akbar is Hrithik Roshan’s first release after Dhoom 2 (2006) and Aishwarya Rai Bachchan’s first release post her marriage to Abhishek Bachchan.

Taran Adarsh of Bollywood Hungama has just published the first detailed review of the movie and rates it 4 stars on 5.

Note:- This is NOT the official Indicine Review. Check out our official review here – Jodha Akbar Review

Jodha Akbar Review

Let’s get one thing straight: You haven’t watched anything so opulent, so magnificent like this in a long, long time on the Hindi screen. It’s not just body beautiful, but there’s soul as well.

It requires courage, prowess, patience, aptitude, knowledge, passion and of course, loads of currency to attempt a movie like Jodhaa Akbar. But more than anything else, it requires your firm belief in the subject, the belief to attempt a historical when historicals are considered an absolute no-no in the industry, the belief to spend almost Rs 40 crore in a film that could go either ways.

Only when you’re convinced yourself can you convince millions of moviegoers. And convinced you are after watching Jodhaa Akbar, a film of epic proportions.

Now let’s clear a few misconceptions pertaining to the film…

It’s blasphemous to compare Mughal-E-Azam and Jodhaa Akbar. While Mughal-E-Azam was primarily about the legendary romance between Salim and Anarkali, a subject that has been attempted quite a few times on the Hindi screen before, Jodhaa Akbar is about the relationship that the young Akbar shared with Jodhaa.

A lot has been said and written about its length [3.20 hours]. Does the viewer of today have the patience to watch a really lengthy film in today’s times? But once into Jodhaa Akbar, the sequence of events, the drama, the romance, the war… every aspect keeps you mesmerized. Oh yes, the length does pinch you at one crucial point [second hour, which is relatively shorter], when a song breaks out. Otherwise, the 3 + hours are very well spent.

When you watch historicals like Mughal-E-Azam and Razia Sultan, the usage of chaste Urdu is difficult to comprehend at times. Not here! The language is simplified – Akbar speaks in Urdu, Jodhaa in Hindi – and it’s easy to decipher.

As a cinematic experience, it would be wrong to compare Jodhaa Akbar to any of Ashutosh Gowariker’s previous endeavors. Why, it would be erroneous to compare the film with any film ever made before in this genre. This one stands out and stands out the tallest.

To sum up, Jodhaa Akbar leaves you spellbound, enthralled, entranced and awestruck. Ashutosh Gowariker makes the legendary characters come alive on screen.

Set in the sixteenth century, Jodhaa Akbar is a love story about a marriage of alliance that gave birth to true love between a great Mughal emperor, Akbar, and a Rajput princess, Jodhaa. Little did Akbar [Hrithik Roshan] know that when he married Jodhaa [Aishwarya Rai Bachchan], he would be embarking upon a new journey — the journey of true love.

The daughter of King Bharmal of Amer [Kulbhushan Kharbanda], Jodhaa resented being reduced to a mere political pawn in this marriage of alliance, and Akbar’s biggest challenge now did not merely lie in winning battles, but in winning the love of this defiant princess.

One of the prime reasons why Jodhaa Akbar works is because the present-day viewer is unaware of the romance between Akbar and Jodhaa. Sure, we all know of Akbar as a great emperor, but the love story makes for a refreshing subject. And the execution of a number of sequences makes Jodhaa Akbar extremely special.

Some instances:

  • The war sequence at the very outset. You realise the scale and magnitude of the film at the very beginning.
  • Hrithik taming an out-of-control elephant. It’s hair-raising.
  • The two pre-conditions set by Jodhaa, before her marriage to Akbar. Very interesting.
  • The confrontation between Ila Arun and Ash at the kitchen, when Ash decides to make the meal herself.
  • The immediate sequence, when Ash is asked to taste the food herself by Ila before she’s about to serve the food to the Emperor and his associates. Once done, Hrithik demanding that he be served the meal from the same platter that Jodhaa had used.
  • The intermission point, which sows the seeds of a misunderstanding between Hrithik and Ash.
  • Post-interval, Hrithik returning to Amer to get Ash back to Agra and the welcome ceremony by his mother-in-law [Suhasini Mulay].
  • The sword fight the very next morning, between Hrithik and Ash.
  • The Azeem-o-Shaan Shahenshah track, when the entire kingdom hails Hrithik.
  • The fight in the climax [reminds you of the fight between Brad Pitt and Eric Bana in Troy].

Amazing moments indeed…

Ashutosh Gowariker knows that historicals have to be simplified while narrating on celluloid so that the moviegoer is able to grasp and comprehend the plotline and the sequence of events. Thankfully, Jodhaa Akbar is not in the least difficult to decipher. Gowariker’s handling of the subject deserves the highest praise, for it’s not everyday that you come across a film like Jodhaa Akbar.

A.R. Rahman’s music is not the type that you take to instantly, but yes, it gels beautifully with the mood of the film. Azeem-o-Shaan Shahenshah and Jashn-e-Bahara are the best tracks in terms of tune. In terms of choreography, Azeem-o-Shaan Shahenshah is awe-inspiring, while the execution of Khwaja Mere Khwaja is outstanding. Rahman’s background score is simply extra-ordinary.

There’s no room for dullness in Haider Ali and Gowariker’s screenplay. The writing is tight, the drama keeps you hooked and the romantic track is wonderful. The film also talks of secularism, an issue so vital in today’s times. K.P. Saxena’s dialogues are amazing. At places, soaked in acid. The writer comes up with several gems, yet again. Kiran Deohans’ cinematography matches international standards. The movement of camera at various places, especially in the battlefield, is breath-taking. Also, the D.O.P. captures the grandeur to the fullest. The production design [Nitin Chandrakant Desai] is, again, awesome. Recreating the bygone era requires not just money, but also the vision and Desai proves his supremacy yet again.

Be it the war sequences or the sword fights or general action, Ravi Dewan’s contribution to the film is incredible. Especially noteworthy is the fight between Hrithik and Nikitin Dheer in the climax. It’s simply outstanding! Editing [Ballu Saluja] is perfect, although the romantic song between Hrithik and Ash can be shortened in the second hour. The costumes [Neeta Lulla] as also the jewelry also deserve special mention.

Jodhaa Akbar also works because of the right casting. It’s difficult to imagine anyone else in the role of Emperor Akbar. Hrithik seems born to play this role and he enacts it with such precision, such flourish, such confidence that it leaves you asking for more. A mind-boggling performance without doubt!

Aishwarya Rai Bachchan is superb. Oh yes, she looks ethereal — a compliment she has heard a trillion times before. What’s new in that? But watch her emote in this film. You realise the amazing talent that has hitherto not been tapped by any movie maker. A flawless performance indeed!

Jodhaa Akbar has a host of characters, but the ones whom you carry home, besides Hrithik and Ash, are Sonu Sood [excellent], Nikitin Dheer [fantastic], Ila Arun [electrifying; her finest work so far], Punam S. Sinha [graceful], Kulbhushan Kharbanda [perfect], Raza Murad [effective] and Rajesh Vivek [good]. Amitabh Bachchan’s rich barritone voice adds lustre to the magnum opus.

On the whole, Jodhaa Akbar is, without a shred of doubt, a brilliant film in all respects. This historical has all it takes to prove the first blockbuster of 2008. Very strongly recommended!

Rating: ★★★★☆ 4 stars on 5

Also check out the official Indicine Review.. Go here – Jodha Akbar Review

Stay updated with the latest in Bollywood - Follow us on Twitter or Facebook
 

Related Articles

Comments

Harmanjit Kaur:  (February 13, 2008 at 6:07 pm)

OMG.. i cant believe this.. Thanks a lot for the Jodhaa Akbar Review.. I cant wait to watch it movie..

I was expecting a good movie.. But something as great as this was totally unexpected.. Lagaan was a great movie but i was somehow disappointed with Swades, it was too long and too boring.. Jodha Akbar i wasnt expecting too much.. Historicals do tend to get a bit boring.. But this is just wayyy too great.. Ashutosh has proved himself yet again just why he is one of the best with Jodha Akbar..

Hrithik is always great when it comes to performances.. Always mind blowing.. Aishwarya rai is another reason why i cant wait to watch this movie..

I am watching Jodha Akbar first day first show at PVR Delhi

Cant wait.. Thanks again for the JA review :)

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
sharath:  (February 13, 2008 at 10:00 pm)

Now i am even more excited about the movie. Waiting to see Hrithik’s performance.With Gowarikar ,we are assured of quality cinema.AR Rahman’s music is splendid. I also will c it first day.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
prashant:  (February 14, 2008 at 1:22 pm)

well i had decided for the first day first show long before coz hrithik is my fav and i hope he will keep up to the expectations of his millons fans waiting with bated breath for one of his biggest ever film release best of luck dude!!!!!!!!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Fathiya:  (February 14, 2008 at 1:54 pm)

I expect it would be a good movie, Swades was a good one, I liked it, it was a bit slow, but the movie conveyed a good message to audiences. We don’t watch movies just for entertaining purpose, but to see what the movie would tell us, what message and what’s the benefit of watching it.

Such movies would be boring for people whom just enter cinema to kill time, and have fun only e.g. comedy movies and not serious ones. I expect Jodha Akbar is a romantic serious movie.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
azizah:  (February 14, 2008 at 2:11 pm)

After reading the review, I can’t wait to see the movie. Wish Gowariker , the expectation is very high. As for Hrithik Roshan and Aishwarya Rai, they are the best!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
amit:  (February 14, 2008 at 5:31 pm)

well friends, i think this is going to be the biggest dud of 2008. taran adarsh is known for reasons of writing reviews. dont get fooled. i admire ashutosh, i liked swades more than lagaan, but m sorry, this would be the biggest dud of 2008.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Amit:  (February 14, 2008 at 7:56 pm)

Amit the use of the word dud is very strong. Have you seen the movie yet to be able to cast such a strong shadow on it.. maybe your harsh judgement should wait until after the movie launches.. whilst I respect everyone has the right to an opinion.. there are many that are really looking forward to this movie and your usage of the word dud will probably do little to quell that.

History films are always going to be a challenge to execute but let us hope that ultimately this movie doesn’t dud out. I lest clinge to hope that the movie will live up to at least some of the hype… what is life without hope? If nothing else.. I’ll enjoy watching the songs on the large screen.

Another Amit

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
SAM:  (February 14, 2008 at 8:55 pm)

COME ON POEPLE! make up your mind by going to watch it yourself!i myself am going to watch it this sunday!big date with ma girl.also huge fans of ash and hrithik!cant wait

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Harmanjit Kaur:  (February 14, 2008 at 10:46 pm)

Here is a review from Vani from Hrithik Rules.com I must say she is the most unbiased reviewer.. Although a Hrithik fan she didnt rate his last few movies highly..

Here is her JA Review

I am not surprised that the reviews are mentioning the length of the movie, I actually had a bit of a problem with it too (in the first half only). Reason being Ashu has used the first 1hr of the movie merely to introduce the characters, to me that is fine since I enjoy it when they explain the characters well than just rushing into it. However a normal audience might get a bit restless during that phase. Surprisingly once your past the first hour of the movie the pace just picks up and you dont get a minute to think about anything from then on,

Peformance wise everyone was fabulous. To begin with

Aish: She was as sweet as honey. She just slipped into the role of Jodhaa so beautifully, its difficult to imagine anyone else in her role. She looked simple and simply stunning. Her role is a little shorter than what I expected but she was brilliant in every scene, delivering undoubtedly the BEST performance of her career till date. She reminded me of the Nandini from HDDCS and that has been my absolute fav from her till now, I think Ashu as a director has gotten the best out of her since then.

Sonu Sood: Aww I feel sorry for him, he’s a pretty decent actor, I wonder why he dosent get too many good roles? He was very good as Sujamal in the movie, I have to admit initially I was a bit hesitant on how he would match up with Hrithik and Ash but he did just fine.

The rest of the supporting cast was adequate, all had very short roles so there is no need to even bother. Sadly I wanted to see more of Poonam Singh but she also had a sorta short role. Frown

Then comming to Hrithik: *sigh* That’s the only thing I could say at the end of the movie, Hrithik IS Akbar. He was brilliant in the role and Akbar is definitely the most challenging role he has played till date and he plays it with perfection. Smile Hrithik is there in literally every frame of the movie, he delivers and how! Just like Ash,

I feel Ashu has brought out the best in Hrithik too, he has made excellent use of Hrithik’s best quality as an actor- the ability to express through his eyes. Whether its the passion he feels for Jodhaa, his desire to break away from the norms that the Mughals have been following over years and bring in more peace into his kingdom or his anger at being betrayed. Comming to the action, Hrithik’s like a pro at it now, he is so much at ease in front of the camera while doing action scenes that its difficult to believe him when he talks about how much pain he went through doing them.

Now the important part- Hrithik’s Urdu. I dont speak Urdu but I do understand it very well (not the extremely high level) Personally I felt his Urdu was just FINE! I read a few people had issues with him but I wasnt able to figure out any sort of problem with his diction except in 2 scenes when he was required to be really high pitch and therefore it sounded a little wrong. Other than that I have to admit he has indeed worked tremendously hard on his diction and I was pleasantly surprised Very Happy

Ps: Hrithik also spoke one Pashtu line in the movie and I was just Shocked at that time, he uses it to describe Ash’s beauty and it sounded amazing!

Now to Hrithik and Ash as a pair onscreen, IMO they are a pair made for each other on screen. From the minute they came together in the same scene I was just glued to the screen, they compliment each other so beautifully and definitely seem to bring out the best from each other as actors, their comfort level is evident on screen. The scenes between them are cute beyond words Sloppy

My fav scenes between Hrithik-Ash, and otherwise

1- The first time Hrithik see’s Ash’s face and vice versa. Cute simply CUTE!

2- Ash’s introduction, I thought it was the PERFECT way to introduce her character *spoiler* its in a sword fighting scene *spoiler end*

3- When Ash tells Hrithik about how he knows how to rule but can never win the hearts of the people, both in reference to her and his territory. Boy both of them were so BRILLIANT in this scene!

4- The Sword fighting between Hrithik and Ash, EXCELLENT! I specially loved this cause you could see how Angry Jodhaa is and how Akbar was simply enjoying teasing her throughout the fight. *spoiler* I love the way he wins over her and specially removes her turban haha! *spoiler end*

5- The scene where Ash cooks for the entire clan

6- The scene where Hrithik has to find Ash amongst all the girls with the Ghoonghat Tongue

7- Hrithik practising his sword fighting *ahem* girls *ahem*, they literally focus on his sweat and trust me I wasnt complaining Naughty

8- Hrithik taming the elephant, I was literally clutching my bag, I was so damn SCARED watching it on screen, I cannot imagine how he even shot it!

9- The climax fight

10- Ash arguing with her father about marrying Akbar.

11- The wedding night scene

There were many other funny moments too in the movie, I cant recall everything right now.

Moving to the songs:

1- Man Mohana: This was my LEAST fav song in the entire album and after the picturization its just shot up. Watch it to know why.

2- Khawja Mere: I was sad about this one, honestly I wasnt too happy with the way it was picturized.

3- Jashn E Bahaaraa: I LOVE this one but it was picturized in bits and parts, not complaining though cause it was beautifully shot.

4- Azeemo Shaan: BRILLIANT!

5- In Lamhon Ke: Honestly speaking this one broke out a little out of the blue LOL! The only time I felt something was sorta misplaced but boy Hrithik-Ash chemistry was on FIRE in the song! Wink

Ashutosh as a director: The only thing I am going to say is that my respect for him as a director has gone even higher. He is exceptionally talented and just keeps getting better with every movie. I never had a doubt that he would do a fantastic job as a director and my belief has been re-affirmed yet again!

I dont know what I’ve missed out on right now, I’ll probably edit it in when I recall it. But JA to me in one word is- BEAUTIFUL! Its a simple romantic story that one would see in todays movies (just set in the Mughal era) and told in a very simple manner by AG.

There are no history lessons and nor are they distorting history in any manner, which brings me to mention that at the beginning of the movie they actually put up the disclaimer that there are many versions to this history about JA and this is just one version (glad they put it in).

So its definitely a Must See from my side, I hope everyone else enjoys it too!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Smriti:  (February 15, 2008 at 3:38 am)

Hey am among the lucky ones who saw the Jodha Akbar premiere!!!!! N indeed what a way to celebrate a Valentine’s Day it was fr me!!

Guys/Gals a must watch movie must say just awesome.. History tells us so many things.. long time that I have seen such a movie!! The way relations r explained, the magnitude of the movie is just mesmerising!!! Yeah have a lil of patience in the beginning n there u see amazing chemistry, story n passion of love unfolding before u!! The length of the movie doesnt bother u.. Ashu great work with the camera!! U rock!!
Hrithik hmm very apt for the role must say!! He has this cute naughty smile thru out the movie n u hold on!!1 Ash very well looks like a Princess!! Out n out I rate the movie really high!! A fantabulous story n history that we have!!

I was just left wanting for more of the movie :).. Yeah India’s answer to Troy for sure!! Just back from the movie n I couldnt wait to post the comment!!!!!! Go for it!!

Ashu n Hrithik Rock!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So does Jodha Akbar!!! Hey a must must watch!! ;)….

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Smriti-Akshata:  (February 15, 2008 at 3:49 am)

hmm ;).. want more of it !! just head towards ur nearest theatre and buy the tickets.. u get to see such elegance n Grace in a movie rarely.. I am not out of the it !! someone please help me out!! Its one classic movie u got to see in a theatre not DVD n CD..!! :)..

All the scenes metioned by the above critics are indeed watchable n stunning sequences!! I would go on and on abt JA!! Ashutosh thanks for such a wonderful movie!! ;)………!!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Fathiya:  (February 15, 2008 at 3:57 am)

I’m planning to go and watch it tomorrow, will come back with a review

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
lorna greenwood:  (February 15, 2008 at 5:58 am)

i’m going to see this film in about 10 hours i’m so excited! ive seen lots of indian/bollywood films but this is the first i am going to see in a cinema, i hope its worth it because i’ve persuaded my mum too come too, she may fall asleep because its a long film. after a bad day-yesturday we need something to take us forward!!! hrithik roshan seems natural in all the promos, and ash too!!!:) lorna x:)

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
ajay:  (February 15, 2008 at 8:20 am)

a movie that will hurt ur ass more than it hurts ur eyes and brain. a big drag of 3 hours. way too long and some good sequences. apart from the elephant thing and the war, the movie is a tv serial of ur mataji’s rona dhona. valentine ko barbad kar de, chodha akbar. jau or om shanti om phir se dekh lo apni girlfriend ke saath. warna, theater mein kharatein maar ke so jaooge aur bahut maar padegi girfriend se.

yeh mat kehna maine tumhe warn nahi kiya. ;)

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Sangita:  (February 15, 2008 at 9:43 am)

I’m so happy to hear that Jodha Akbar is a good watch. I had always thought that Ashutosh Gowarikar wasn’t much of director honestly. And it was all because of Aamir shadow directing that Lagaan was so good. (Swadesh sort of proved it for me and Taare Zameen par well… ) But good for him he’s redeemed himself, not that he needed to. Also the Ash Hrithik jodi wasted in a stupid film would have been real sad. All the best for the film at the box office!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Pradeep:  (February 15, 2008 at 10:39 am)

I am really amazed to read this GOOD review….I watched the premier show wasting my 700 bucks.
Its SIMPLE WASTE OF TIME. All the audience were simply waiting as to when the movie will END.

Its very SLOW in its pace and looks as if you are watching some serial in episodes that are TOOOOO lengthy.
At times I really felt as if where the movie is heading towards. The sets are too good, every one has given its best the producers have spared nothing from their end but alas they have forgotten to give it a STORY.

First 30 minutes you just brush through history lessons by Amitabh…..If you understand this then the movie goes on anywhere and everywhere……Watch just for the Costume show and the grandness I am sorry to tell it has NO STORYYY , very loosely knit

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
ram khandelwalr:  (February 15, 2008 at 11:57 am)

I saw the premiere. The movie is a crashing bore. Seems like a TV serial gone horribly wrong. You can add this to Ash’s mega flops….atleast this movie outdoes one thing. it beats Umrao Jaan in boredom. Other than her husband’s career, Ash will take Hrithik’s career also down the tube. Better Hrithik sticks to his romantic / action movies….he looks good in them.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
avnish mishra:  (February 15, 2008 at 12:01 pm)

THIS MOVIE MAKE A HISTORY IN BOLLYWOOD HR ASH AR REHMAAN & JAVED SIR GVE A PERFORMACE TO MAKE THIS MOVIE A HISTORICAL

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Keyshore:  (February 15, 2008 at 12:30 pm)

Gurls/Guyz, chill out dont wait to read for more reviews…..book tickets tonite…..i already got the tickets booked for tonite show…njoi…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
prakash:  (February 15, 2008 at 2:19 pm)

I saw First day first show…………….ohh no! It had been better i bought a pair of pyjamas instead. Boring epic yaar……..those with GF can go and have sum fun ……..forget the movie

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Naren:  (February 15, 2008 at 3:30 pm)

It’s an excellent movie with nice scenes betwen ash and hrithik….!!
what an excellent music esp. sufi song was amazing ….it can create wonderful joy around you….!!
It’s an spectalular watch…!!IT’S A MUST WATCH….!!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
SK:  (February 15, 2008 at 4:13 pm)

the movie was wonderful.But I have to disagree about the chemistry between HRK and Ash..Hrk looked uncomfortable in the romantic song between the two of them.Seemed like it could have been avoided.

But on the whole the movie was amazing and Hrk owned it, He looked and acted like a king.There were few scenes where he acted so well without even saying anything.The other person who leaves a good impression is Ila Arun.I didn’t know she could act so well.And the narration was done by both Amithabh and Shathrugan Sinha.People are thinking it was only AB.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Azeem Iqbal:  (February 15, 2008 at 5:15 pm)

Hey After reading the comments and the review I really Thank GOD for such a nice response from the people, because although Hrithik is in there but Historicalls and Movies like that do sometimes get down, but Inshallah I pray it will be a blockbuster hit……..

Very Nice Excellent Movie , Love Hrithik and Ash the best Jory I have seen till now in the Indian Cinema.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Sachin Z:  (February 15, 2008 at 5:26 pm)

Feeling proud of Indian Cinema after watching JODHA AKBAR in London on thursday itself….Everyone was too fabulous. Well done Ashutosh!! This movie will take the industry to greater heights.

Sachin Z

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Vinesh:  (February 15, 2008 at 7:49 pm)

Wow what a movie.. I simply loved it.. Someone says its a pain to sit through.. wasted money.. But i would say just the sword scene between ash and Hrithik is worth the price of the ticket.. Such a spectacular watch.. sexual foreplay in the form of a sword fight on screen.. believe it!

Its brilliant.. didnt understand how the 3 hours+ passed by..

Jodha Akbar belongs to Akbar i.e Hrithik Roshan.. He was born to play the role and he does it with brilliance! What an amazing performance.. Deserves every best actor award! Aishwarya is also great!

Direction is flawless..

Overall -- 4.5 / 5

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0

 

 

Leave a Reply

  • Name