Ready Movie Review

After the earth shattering success of Dabangg, a film that not only did huge business but also won several awards, the one man behind all the success of the film returns with Ready. Salman Khan was always one of the biggest names in the industry, but its only after the success of Dabangg that the expectations from each of his upcoming films has sky rocketed.

Ready is directed by Anees Bazmee (Welcome – No Entry – Singh Is King), who not too long ago was the most commercially successful director in the industry. His last few films though have failed to live up to expectations. Can Ready, loaded with Khan’s charisma and chartbuster music, thrash box office records and entertain the audience? Let’s fine out..

Salman returns to his most famous screen name Prem, son of a industralist Rajveer Kapoor (played by Mahesh Manjrekar). Prem is a rich young man with a heart of gold and his profession, well he’s a match-maker for couples in distress.

Soon, Sanjana as Pooja (Asin Thottumkal) enters his life and the two fall in love. The problem is, Sanjana’s uncles are big-time gundas and they want her to marry the guy of their choice. The rest of the film is about how Salman, in his wily comical way wins over her entire family.

Ready Movie Review

Why Ready is worth a trip to theaters

  • Salman Khan! He can’t act and he doesn’t need to. Khan relies entirely on his star power, attitude, screen presence and his unique dialogue delivery to shoulder the film from start to finish. Watch out for the pee / tee break. Its something only Salman can do and what’s more, he manages to bring the house down!
  • The music carries huge mass appeal. Character Dheela Hai and Dhinka Chika have already topped charts and both songs worked big time with the audience.
  • The character actors – Manoj Joshi, Paresh Rawal, Sudesh Lehri and Akhilendra Mishra – do well, especially in the second half.
  • Few dialogues are good.

Why it isn’t..

  • The biggest problem with Ready is, the action scenes are limited and the film isn’t very funny either. Also parts of the first half tend to get boring.
  • Much like Dabangg, Ready has no story. Its thin plot-line is stretched too long and the film relies entirely on funny lines and performances.
  • Asin has little to do and she annoys, infact the pretty Asin of Ghajini is missing here. The actress doesn’t get her look and expressions right.
  • With the runtime at around 165 mins, Ready is far too long.

Coming to the performances, as mentioned above, Ready is Salman Khan’s show. Asin disappoints big time, while a few character actors do well. Sanjay Dutt, Ajay Devgan, Zarine Khan and Kangna Ranaut make special appearances.

Overall, watch Ready if your a Salman Khan fan, else skip it. As simple as that.

Rating: ★★½☆☆

Other notes: The theater was about 60% full on Friday morning. Not too bad. All other shows are houseful. Opening will be good but what remains to be seen is, if the film manages to sustain after Sunday. We will keep you updated.

Advertisements

27 Comments

  • Indicineeeeee… are you back with reviews for real?? LOVE LOVE LOVE your reviews.. please keep posting reviews..

    Thanks a lot….

    I watched the movie and i agree with your review from first sentence to last :)

  • @IndicineTeam – For last 1 year i have been searching for ur reviews desperately. I am a hardcore fan of ur reviews.

    today also i searched ur site for review of ready and to my pleasant surprise i saw ur review finally. Really happy that ur review is back. Please keep it up and post ur reviews for each movies… U guys rock….

  • Indicine Team,
    please post reviews of your not other. Your reviews are always true and i love them

  • i havent seen da movie but as per indicinne review mera to mood he kharab hogya and asin to pehlay he nhi achi lagti thi mujhe

  • I m very upset with d movie,the movie is not as good as expected.sale kuch jyada hi publicity karte hai.jaisi movie hai utna hi publicity karni chahye,warna expection badh jata hai aur aise din dekhne padte hai.

  • but i like the movie…it was gud.. and salman loooking cool…anyway i like ur review but i suggest anyone to watch once..

  • Me sab ko yahi kahana chahatu ki aj kal AWARD ki tara kharab review ke liye presure kiya jata hai.ek bar flim dekho apne apme review pa jaoge.

  • One of the best movies by Salman. When Salman and comedy mixes, you cannot find anything better than this.

    We all accept that the acting doesn’t work with Salman, but the thing is we all accept Salman too… without any Q’s — MIND IT

  • I watched the movie, the movie has story how indicine said the movie has no story buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz, anyway good movie must to watch :)

  • such a good movie.all the punches are very nice, salman acting is mast and looking cool.aur saale jo kahte hai bekar movie hai unhe kuch pata hai acchi movie kya hoti hai…..guys and girls must watch

  • We along with friends have seen this movie, amidst hustle and bustle. Thin plot, drags, drags after intermission. One thing seems correct, the movie has funny moments, but suddenly we were not interested in humour as shown but tried ourselves to engross ourselves in the other stuff. The movie is fine with a good cast and stellar performance of Super Salman Khan who performs well, but the movie is not exceptional, as portrayed but we had fun in theatre. ***

  • U guys just knw to make bread chop of any movie. I watched the movie though m nt gr8 fan of mr. Salman khan bt then also i lyked.
    What ever u guys say bt the fact is that nw the movie is block buster.
    Salman rockz!

  • oe: (June 15, 2011 at 6:45 am)
    salmangay fans are insecure that is why they are trying to make ra one underachieved because they know that king living legend dr shahrukh khan is light years better than this animal killing womanizer spinister shitty envoius greedy floppmaster salmangay khan keep dreaming
    why did this cretin copy modern talking song brother louie and what the heck you love in this shitty crazy like his rotten head song dhinka wake up fooled people by this slapped by waman and doesnt reply faggot

    j i joe: (June 15, 2011 at 6:46 am)
    hii
    salmangay fans are insecure that is why they are trying to make ra one underachieved because they know that king living legend dr shahrukh khan is light years better than this animal killing womanizer spinister shitty envoius greedy floppmaster salmangay khan keep dreaming
    why did this cretin copy modern talking song brother louie and what the heck you love in this shitty crazy like his rotten head song dhinka wake up fooled people by this slapped by waman and doesnt reply faggot

    the truth is history no one like legend srk: (June 15, 2011 at 6:49 am)
    Shahrukh Khan (Urdu: شاہ رُخ خان, Hindi: शाहरुख़ ख़ान; born 2 November 1965), often credited as Shah Rukh Khan, is an Indian film actor and a prominent Bollywood figure, as well as a film producer and television host. Khan began his career appearing in several television serials in the late 1980s. He made his film debut in Deewana (1992). Since then, he has been part of numerous commercially successful films and has earned critical acclaim for many of his performances. Khan has won fourteen Filmfare Awards for his work in Indian films, eight of which are in the Best Actor category (a record). In 2005, the Government of India honoured him with the Padma Shri for his contributions towards Indian Cinema.
    Khan’s films such as Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jayenge (1995), Kuch Kuch Hota Hai (1998), Chak De India (2007), Om Shanti Om (2007) and Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi (2008) remain some of Bollywood’s biggest hits, while films like Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham (2001), Kal Ho Naa Ho (2003), Veer-Zaara (2004), Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna (2006) and My Name Is Khan (2010) have been top-grossing Indian productions in the overseas markets, making him one of the most successful actors of India.[2]
    Since 2000, Khan branched out into film production and television presenting as well. He is the founder/owner of two production companies, Dreamz Unlimited and Red Chillies Entertainment. Globally, Khan is considered to be one of the biggest movie stars,[3] with a fan following numbering in the billions[4] and a net worth estimated at over 2,500 crore (US$555 million).[5] In 2008,

    the truth is history no one like legend srk: (June 15, 2011 at 6:50 am)
    Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge (Hindi: दिलवाले दुल्हनिया ले जाएँगे; English: The Big Hearted Will Take the Bride), also known as DDLJ,[3] is a Hindi language film released on 20 October 1995. A romantic comedy, the film marked the directorial debut of Aditya Chopra, and stars Shahrukh Khan and Kajol.
    Earning over Rs 106 crore in India and Rs 15 crore overseas, the film became the biggest Bollywood hit of the year,[4] as well as one of the biggest Bollywood hits of all time.[5][6] It remains the longest running film in the history of Indian cinema. As of 2011, it is still playing at the Maratha Mandir theatre in Mumbai.[7]
    Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge was included in the Cinema India showcase, “The Changing Face of Indian Cinema”, which toured the United States in July and August 2004.[8] Indiatimes Movies ranks the movie amongst the 25 Must See Bollywood Films.[9] It was one of the two Hindi films in the 1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die list (the other being Mother India).[10] It was also placed twelfth on the British Film Institute’s list of top Indian films of all time

    the truth is history no one like legend srk: (June 15, 2011 at 6:52 am)
    In 1993, Khan won acclaim for his performances in villainous roles as an obsessive lover and a murderer, respectively, in the box office hits, Darr and Baazigar.[25] In Khan’s entry in Encyclopedia Britannica’s “Encyclopedia of Hindi Cinema” it was stated that “he defied the image of the conventional hero in both these films and created his own version of the revisionist hero.”[26] Darr marked his first collaboration with renowned film-maker Yash Chopra and his banner Yash Raj Films, the largest production company in Bollywood. Baazigar, which saw Khan portraying an ambiguous avenger who murders his girlfriend, shocked its Indian audience with an unexpected violation of the standard Bollywood formula.[27] His performance won him his first Filmfare Best Actor Award

    the truth is history no one like legend srk: (June 15, 2011 at 6:53 am)
    evdas (Hindi: देवदास) is a 2002 Hindi film based on the Sharat Chandra Chattopadhyay novella Devdas. This is the third Bollywood (Hindi) version and the first colour film version of the story in Hindi. The film is directed by Sanjay Leela Bhansali and stars Shahrukh Khan, Madhuri Dixit, and Aishwarya Rai in the leading roles.
    At the time of its release, Devdas was the most expensive Bollywood film ever produced, with a reported budget of Rs 50 crores.[3] The film was released in six alternative language versions: English, French, German, Mandarin, Thai, and Punjabi.
    Shahrukh Khan’s performance as the rebellious alcoholic Devdas is often considered one of his best performances, and won him a Filmfare Award. The song Dola Re Dola became a hit with its unique dance duet between Aishwarya Rai and Madhuri Dixit.
    The film won five National Awards, ten Filmfare Awards including Best Film, and received a BAFTA nomination for Best Foreign Language Film. It was also India’s entry for Best Foreign Language Film at the Oscars. It was ranked #74 in Empire magazines “The 100 Best Films Of World Cinema” in 2010.[4]. Time Magazine named Devdas as the best movie of 2002 among all the movies released around the world in 2002
    source wikipedia

    ra one all the way: (June 15, 2011 at 7:02 am)
    yeaj ra one come soon break head and heart of salman amir khans and their fan too

  • abe sale review achhi hai…must line hai last me ..jo sallu ke fan hai unke liye bhi aur jo nahi unke liye bhi…..chhutiye es film ko dekhne ke liye dimag ko ghar pe chhor ke theatre me aana hoga..kyuki rajni type film hai..lekin thoda achha bhi hai…”koi to rok lo”…

  • abe sale review achhi hai…must line hai last me ..jo sallu ke fan hai unke liye bhi aur jo nahi unke liye bhi…..chhutiye es film ko dekhne ke liye dimag ko ghar pe chhor ke theatre me aana hoga..kyuki rajni type film hai..lekin thoda achha bhi hai.. Ab lagta hai mai review dene lag gaya hehehehe.
    ”koi to rok lo”…

  • review you so stupid and jealousy…and all hater don’t hat hat the game….ready is all time blockbuster like it or not..

  • Saw it on cheap dvd.. paid for it only fils 500.. and was sorry for wasting those 500fils on such a crap film!! just loved the song character Dheela.. that’s all and watched only 30 minutes which was more than enough to be spent it on such a film.. it did well at the box office because of Salman’s success after Dabangg.. and that’s with ppl.. when they love any actor so they love also his crap films and don’t see any fault!!

  • Finally Salman has come back with back to back all time blockbuster hit films ready & bodyguard(In a span of 1 year).Total all time blockbuster movies r 5 excluding kuch k hota h.
    Is’nt it feeling too pity for some other hero who has been struggling in industry for 20 years by giving hits but doesn’t have 2 all time blockbusters only ddlj becoz kkhh was multi starrer which also stars Salman khan.At the end, i juz wanna say industry needs only profit which is called Money not an Awards.
    Now if u smelllllllllll whose asses are burning ?

Leave a Comment