Kurbaan Movie Review

Real life couple Saif Ali Khan and Kareena Kapoor come together for Rensil D’Silva’s Kurbaan produced under the Dharma Productions banner. No publicity is bad publicity and hence the controversy surrounding the film right from the time Karan Johar revealed the first look on Twitter to the Shiv Sen protests just before release, has only helped raise the curiosity level. But come Friday, when the film witnesses a global release, it all comes down to the merits. Does Rensil D’Silva in his debut deliver? Read on to find out

The story revolves around Avantika (Kareena Kapoor) and Ehsaan (Saif Ali Khan), both professors at a university, fall in love, marry and move abroad to the United States of America.  All’s good, until Kareena discovers her husband works for a terror sleeper cell and along with others, is planning an attack similar to 9/11. Under house arrest, Avantika’s only hope is a journalist (Vivek Oberoi), who is also on a mission to take his revenge on the terrorists, who were responsible for the death of his girlfriend (Dia Mirza in a special appearance).

Kurbaan Review

What works for Kurbaan

  • The first half is fantastic, extremely gripping. Aided by a powerful screenplay in his very first film as director, Rensil D’Siva has managed to keep the intensity level going throughout. He also proves to be an expert story-teller, a director to watch out for.
  • Also there aren’t any unwanted scenes or excessive melodrama, due to which the pace remains very consistent.
  • The second half though, does get a bit heavy with the cold-blooded characters and the crafty yet involving plotline . Don’t expect a moment of relief, till the credits roll – a good 2 hours 40 mins later.
  • What makes Kurbaan a must watch are superlative performances (rated below) from the entire cast – right from the lead stars to those FBI characters played by foreigners.
  • Technically the film is brilliant too. High on production value, even the blast sequences and the aftermath have been shot with attention to every small detail.
  • Music, like in most Dharma productions, is top notch. Shukran Allah and Ali Maula deserve mention.
  • Dialogues (Anurag Kashyap and Niranjan Iyenga) are very effective, especially those written for Saif and Vivek.

Scenes to watch out for (Possible spoilers below)

  • When Kareena gets to know the ‘shocking’ truth.
  • Vivek’s test at the burger / sandwich shop, when he is asked to shoot the chef down.
  • Kareena cutting open the wound to remove the bullet off Saif’s chest.
  • The much discussed love making scene featuring Kareena and Saif. Loads of skin show (bare back) but tastefully shot.
  • Climax

Performances (in order)

  1. Vivek Oberoi – Given a meaty role, Vivek delivers a performance comparable to the likes of Company and Shootout at Lokanwala. Re-birth of a star, if you could call it so. Here’s hoping, he gets noticed and Kurbaan proves to be the much needed boost to his career. What also deserves a mention is his enunciation, which is spot on.
  2. Saif Ali Khan – Very consistent and a performance that stays with you, long after you leave theaters.
  3. Kareena Kapoor – In a depressing character is very effective.
  4. Om Puri, Kirron Kher and the rest of the cast are very good.
  5. Dia Mirza – In a very sweet character, looked stunningly beautiful. How we wish, she had a longer role.

Negatives, not many

  • Family audiences may not enjoy a few sequences. As the movie progresses, it does get too heavy. There is a decent amount of blood and gore too.
  • 4 -5 people organizing a terror attack of such magnitude. isn’t too very convincing. Especially the first plane bombing.
  • The climax, while shocking, may not be universally accepted.

Overall, Kurbaan is a fascinating watch and arguably the best Dharma Productions film this decade. Forget comparisons with New York, this ones much better. Go for it.

Rating: ★★★★½ For performances, direction and screenplay. Must watch.

Other Notes : We would love to repeat, something we have said time and again. Buying, renting CDs / DVDs or downloading it from the internet is illegal. Its quite simply like going to a shop and stealing something that you want to buy. A lot of money and more importantly effort, goes into the making of each film. If you decide to watch it, do so ONLY in theaters. Its a request :)

Already watched the film? Drop in your Kurbaan Reviews below in the comments section.

 

Comments

sudeep:  (November 21, 2009 at 7:04 pm)

Amish:They have started…Havenot u seen interview of akshay-suniel-paresh in NDTV..n just couple of mins ago Paresh-suniel-katrina was interviewing in V CHANNEL…..But Finger cross!!!!!hope is all from akshay

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
amish:  (November 21, 2009 at 7:07 pm)

^ ya this movie s not worth 4.5 stars..

Indicine team- i don agree with ur reviews on kurbaan and tum mile..

kurbaan was average- 2.5/5
tum mile was bad- 2/5

kurbaan would `ve been better if it was released before New York. bcoz its very similar i didnt find it great.

characters r same to same:- John-saif, neil-vivek,katrina-kareena (kareena here still not delivered d baby;))

ending also. in kurbaan it s shot in train der it was shot on d roof….;)

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
amish:  (November 21, 2009 at 7:19 pm)

sudeep- ndtv interview? does it come on net.. ? i dont get ndtv on my tv..
ya am sure movie `ll do well… but u know wat s d problem- al these ppl `ll give it a 1.5 or 2 stars which makes ppl stay back home. its human nature tat once every1 says its a bad movie even if its gud u feel it as bad…

along with dat dey `ll tell akshay s pathetic, same thing he repeats etc.. sleepwalks n dunno wat al..;)

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
nauman:  (November 21, 2009 at 7:30 pm)

indicine :
dont worry about that i am always with u till my death and waiting ur reply .
but wht will u give me reply u didnt give me reply yet for london dreams when u guys said that dialogues are very poor and i asked u to write some good dialoguges and u guys didnt discuss that thing again.
please give me a favour when u will go to cinema on 27 nov please have some coffee or tea before u enter in the hall pleaseeee it is my humble request. and take good sleep on thursday night atlease 8 hrs.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
sudeep:  (November 21, 2009 at 9:25 pm)

Amish:You can see it at ndtv.com !!!!!!Ya may be critics donot like movie but when did critics like akshay movie ????2-3 movie only other all r below rating!!!So people know tht but also they will go to see it…If DE DANA DAN is very bad like CCTC or tashan only people will not go to see but if it is same categories like WELCOME,NO ENTRY,phir hera pheri then people will surely enjoy it!!!!! But personal point of view,Priyadarsan is good director …May be his story plot is thin but still there r lots of laughter dose …so i trust on Priyadarsan as his last movie billu barber was also nice but not great!!!!! But here,Akshay-suniel-paresh and other 20 character(Funny character like jony lever,rajpal yadav,manoj joshi n many more r there) if all can give 1 punch comedy then it will have more than 20 punch which make enough to make it hit!!!!!But still finger cross

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Shah:  (November 21, 2009 at 9:47 pm)

Nauman -- good job with an excellent and candid review.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Phenokhshita:  (November 21, 2009 at 10:11 pm)

Give me tickets of the movie. I m below poverty line. I want to see the movie. Please help

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
xavi:  (November 21, 2009 at 10:26 pm)

for all salman fans according to glamsham.com main aur mrs khanna has emerged as hit it has got a record viewership in DTH with 22 crs till now

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Amrit:  (November 21, 2009 at 10:41 pm)

Sorry, but I was not entertained watching Kurbaan.
Really slow and full of faana stuff rom Amir khan camp and Arington Road.

This movie is forgettable.

Next year, no one will talk about this movie. Another dvd to throw out.

lol, I buy them for 1 usd at the flea market and then I throw it out.

There is not way I would keep this crap bollywood movie called Kurbaan in my house.

It’s not good.

Really stupid because we not given movies that entertain.

Just rich actors trying to act as if they are suffering.

So useles. So Saif, waste you life, we don’t care about your future movies.

We don’t like bollywood movies.

A movie about terrorism. So sleepy this movie makes me.

And the ladies I went with , hated it.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Fathiya:  (November 22, 2009 at 12:17 am)

Indicine Team: I agree with yr review.. it’s a brilliant movie.. it’s nothing less than the movie “New York” but with a different script & direction ( Khuda ki liya was completely a different movie and can’t be compared with Kurban, a different conception)

Comparing Kurban with New York.. Kurban is more intense, and although it’s a serious movie, you’d never get bored while watching it at all. Actually the 2nd half is much better than the 1st half.. I watched it with my niece and she said also the same.. and when the movie finished she said: who r those idiots who’d say that Kurban isn’t a good movie?!! probably those who love only those silly comedy would say such a thinkg about this movie ( and she loved it although she doesn’t like serious movies very much, she’d rather watch romantic comedy but she enjoyed watching Kurban, and that proves the good script and the good direction.)

And if the awards would go to any actress this year, so the 2 actresses who really deserve it are: Katrina & Karina.. Karina did a great job, great acting in this movie.. this is her best performance after Omkara.. all the cast were good, Saif & others and Vivek’s performance was also good.

I didn’t find any negative scene ( and the love making scene was scensored), we didn’t see it.. the only scene which surprised me is the scene in the burger shop.. when Om Puri asks Vivek to shoot the guy.. I didn’t expect that he’d do it.. I expected that Vivek would take another action not to kill the innocent guy, but he tried to do it and then found out there was no bullet in the pistol!! I didn’t agree only on this scene!

Overall.. it’s a worth watching movie, and why some muslim ppl should be offeneded?! this movie actually is against terrorism and about the victims, innocent ppl who’d die and pay their life as a price for the terrorist’s revenge.. that’s the message in the movie..it’s not against muslims

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Indicine Team:  (November 22, 2009 at 1:23 am)

Good review Fathiya and glad you enjoyed the movie.

Nauman, Amish and others. Watching a movie is an experience, if the 2 -- 3 hours you spend in theater is enjoyable, memorable and thrilling.. that is all that matters. Story.. yes, depending on the genre, its important but only to a certain extent. Take the best of movies -- Chak De India, Taare Zameen Par, Jodhaa Akbar, Lagaan, Rang De Basanti.. they all had flaws, doesn’t mean they aren’t good enough to be classics.. Certain cinematic liberties are always taken to take the story forward, from the director’s point of view -- to make it more exciting, gripping for the audience..

Even Akshay Kumar’s story-less movies, given the genre, were enjoyable once upon a time, but not anymore. What’s the difference between Chandni Chowk, Welcome, Singh Is King, Kambakth Ishq and many more? Much of the same thing -- they continue to be loud, over the top with a disjointed screenplay. Its tiring to watch Akshay in similar films, back to back, the non-Akshay fans (talking about film buffs here) need a change.. and the year 2009 is a proof of this.

There hasn’t been any variety, Tasveer and Blue -- Akki’s best bets -- unfortunately weren’t upto the mark. So now its back to the same thing.

And Nauman, if De Dana Dan is as bad as the other two Akshay comedies this year, 10 cups of coffee aint gonna be good enough. We have our expectations low, Akki fans will anyways watch it irrespective of how much we rate the film, so the review would only matter to others.

 
Indicine Team:  (November 22, 2009 at 1:25 am)

Nauman, avoid calling others crazy. Comment deleted. Different people, different tastes. You hate a dish, doesn’t mean someone else cannot like it. :)

P.S -- Its ‘flaws’ not ‘flows’

 
Fathiya:  (November 22, 2009 at 1:41 am)

Nauman: sorry that I didn’t read yr review because I decided not to read it ( a spoiler) and I didn’t until I watched the movie today.. I’ve posted my review 30 minutes ago.. so here I am.. reading yr comment.. and sorry to tell u Nuaman that I donnnnnnnt agreeeee with all your points!! ( even the way u mentioned the story shows that you just want to “spoil” it!!) you sound like u want to pick any minor and unnecessary points in the movie! just to spoil it for others and to forbid them from watching it! let me take your negative points one by one and comment on them:

1) kissing scene in the staff room: lots of ppl do it in fact.. if u can’t believe it.. so believe it now.. even at of of the banks in our country..a couple were caught having sex in a private room! even at one of the universities in Bahrain, a couple were found completely naked in a class room!! these are all shocking news.. but it happens dear Nauman!

2) Some movies don’t show you all the details because it’s just not important.. we, as audience, could predit that he did it ( and as a terrorist ofcourse he’d give them some false info.. right?!) And it had to be like that, the audience will be surprised lateron.. when he finds out that Saif was married and his wife got killend with his baby ( Nauman: you’d better become a filmmaker then you’d rectify all these points which u mentioned and you’ll make a super hit movie!)

3) When we know that there’s a bomb on a flight and one of the fiends or family on board.. so immediately we think how to reach that personand inform him not to get in the plane.. in such a moment which need urgent action and there’s no time to think, what’s right or what’s wrong we don’t know.. we’ll try to protect (first) people which we know.

4) If u were in Kareena’s place and saw your neighbour is beating his wife.. you’d not even bother to sneak around like she did.. to find out what’s happening in their house because you’ll be afraid and you wl stay away because u don’t want to get involed in some troubles with the neighbours.. so.. are u going to call the police and put yourself in a bigger one with them? No nah?!!

5) Why Vivek tried to solve the problem himself? I think u need to watch the movie again.. probably you fell asleep in that scene! when the security man asked him to do what you’re exactly asking, and Vivek replied: no.. becuse it will make it worse.. he thought the police would ruin it and then he will lose the chance to catch the terrorists… that’s why.

And 6, 7, 8, 9, 10.. you know what Mr. Nauman.. you should discuss all what you’ve mentioned with the director & the producer of the movie.. if they’ll think to make (Kurban 2) then they’ll hire u for sure to make the best part 2 and would avoid all those points which u mentioned!! and then you’ll get an award.. best script writer & director or a best critic award!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Indicine Team:  (November 22, 2009 at 2:09 am)

Too add more to the 4th point, Saif asked Kareena not to inform the cops and to avoid interfering in their personal issues. How many of us Indians, would call up the cops, if you see your neighbor abusing his wife? Very few.

And agree with point 3 as well, when Kareena regained her consciousness the first thing she did was call Dia after which Saif walked in almost immediately.

 
Fathiya:  (November 22, 2009 at 2:12 am)

nauman: hahahahha… a bullshit movie for u nauman but not for me.. I still don’t know which movies you found the best.. could u please give me some examples.. just to know your taste.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Fathiya:  (November 22, 2009 at 2:26 am)

Indicine Team: thanks and some ppl just want to spoil any good movie with their bad criticism.. Nauman didn’t leave any thing good in the movie! even the way he said the story was bad! If a movie like Kurban is a bad or a poor movie.. then what could we say about Blue and the rest of Akshay Kumar’s movies.. which he did in the past?!!!!!!!!!!!!! zero or what?!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
linjo:  (November 22, 2009 at 7:53 am)

Fathiya … for the first time I agree with you…. I thought you only like SRK movies….. Kurbaan is a well made movie,top notch direction and performances.. I dont know why such negative comments are incoming…. SHame on you Nauman… I was laughing reading your comments… I think you will give 4.5 to Harman baweja movies…
Once again well done fathiya for your great comments,…DO promote the movie as the collections are not as good as expected or it deserved ..

My rating 4/5

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
amish:  (November 22, 2009 at 8:04 am)

Indicine team- movies r meant to be enjoyed i agree.. but d Q s wat r comedy movies made for?? it s more of enjoyment… and very few ppl have d talent to make some 1 laugh.. akshay tops tat list..:)

U support fathiya only bcoz she agreed with ur rating???

just like u said every1 has his choice n a own taste.

i do agree background score was supperb in this move but wy u tell it as more powerful than NEW york??? plots wer different not d story as such. it was revenge against US ppl.

as i told earlier if it was released before new york it would `ve been great but nw it s a bit damp..

Not worth 4.5 stars for sure.!

IF APKGK and ALL the BEST wer above average am sure DDD shud be d same. AJAY DEVGN sanjay dutt ranbir kapoor, if they wer superb in comedy with no story line in d above movies, Akshay s far more better in comedy compared to them.

if akshay s tiring to watch, wat bout sanjay or ajay devgn?? ajay did similar roles in Golmal n returns but u told he s superb???

u dont like akshay its obvious nw..;)

Ok wat was enjoyable in tum mile?? it was borin to its core!!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
amish:  (November 22, 2009 at 8:46 am)

Indicine Team- funny part is, u call Naumans review to be excellent one night and d next night it turns out bad…;) ha ha

Hw many of u really operate the sight yaar…;) y`days night duty commentor was not akshay fan for sure…;) ha ha

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
amish:  (November 22, 2009 at 8:48 am)

sorry i mean site(website).. not sight..;) spellin mistake…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
sudeep:  (November 22, 2009 at 9:05 am)

I wonder Y de dana dan promo r showing more!!!!!I mean lot of dialouge promo is shown!!!R producer r confident that there r many comic scenes in the movie????Just saw more 3-4 comedy scenes in Television!!!!!It was funny though!!!i can’t wait more !!How to pass 6 day before i go to watch the movie!!damn

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
amish:  (November 22, 2009 at 9:25 am)

Preview: De Dana Dan (Prediction – Rating 2/5; BO-Hit)

De Dana Dan brings together the Hera Pheri team again. Hopefully this outing should turn out to be better than Hera Pheri 2. The story is similar to Hera Pheri (1), where down and broke people hatch a kidnapping plan, which goes out of control.

Here Akshay Kumar and Suniel Shetty are good friends. Both are broke and both get ultimatum from their girlfriends to get rich, else they will be married off to someone else who is rich. Add to this, Paresh Rawal, a shrewd businessman whom wants his son (Chunky Pandey) to marry one of the rich girls to get a big sum as dowry to help pay off his debtors.

The broke blokes hatch a kidnap plan to reach to their goal of becoming rich. They get the hostage and hole up in a hotel. At the same hotel, Paresh has his son’s wedding with one of the rich girls. And then as all Priyadarshan comedies go – hell breaks loose and everything goes for a toss ( equals to lot of slap stick comedy).

Rating prediction: Critics (2/5)
Box Office prediction: Hit

Cast:
Akshay Kumar, Suniel Shetty, Paresh Rawal, Katrina Kaif, Sameera Reddy, Neha Dhupia, Asrani, Johnny Lever, Manoj Joshi, Chunkey Pandey, Archana Puran Singh, Aditi Govitrikar, Sharat Saxena and Rajpal Yadav.

Crew:
Direction: Priyadarshan
Music: Pritam, RDB, AD Boys
Lyrics: Sayeed Quadri, Irshaad Kamli, Neeraj Sreedhar and Sameer
Art direction: Sabu Cyril
Cinematography: N. K. Ekambaram
Editing: Arun Kumar

-naachgaana.com

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Payal:  (November 22, 2009 at 9:37 am)

TO THE INDICINE TEAM

Indicine team is biased n thats what amish has proved..
1. U hate akshay
2. U like someone’s review 1 day and you outrightly reject it the other day for some other reviewer whose review which matches with yours. !Wel i agree with fathiya’s review!
3. YoU never answer or even participate in discussions with people other than fathiya, nauman, sudeep, amish, saurabh, saju dey etc. ANd you call them others. U r yourself discouraging people to never come again on this site. See many of the comments other than those given by above people were never read or something? Many of them lie unanswered in other forums as well. Everyone has put up some point of discussion or they want to know something from you, but you never turn up to the so called ‘others.’. Well i never used to drop a line and have been reading your reviews since 9th nov, the day wen Oso released and you gave it just one star. But This time i want you to improve and look into this regard.

this is not good . It only hampers the progress of your site.
And ya i am not hoping any response from you for this either. Because for you i am yet another one in your list of ‘others’

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
amish:  (November 22, 2009 at 9:47 am)

Payal- am sure after this comment u `ll get a reply from Indicine team, for sure.!..;)

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
Payal:  (November 22, 2009 at 9:48 am)

Fathiya:
you are just class apart. Really you are just a very good reviewer. I agree with your review after watching the movie. Surely kareena is going to get the best actress award this year

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

 
 

Leave a Reply

  • Name